NTFS vs FAT32 on external USB2.0 HDD

Discussion in 'Computer Peripherals & Consumables' started by RohanM, Sep 10, 2008.

1. RohanM

RohanM

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +37
    Apart from the size of individual files being lower on FAT32-formatted external HDDs, what's the difference?

I'm asking because I've just bought a Western Digital Passport Elite 320Gb USB2.0 external HDD and started backing up the home Windows XP laptop (using the SW supplied with the HDD) BEFORE re-formatting to NTFS... Which I was told to do by a (usually) knowledgeable colleague - and I forgot :(.

And it's now an hour (and 32Gb - damn those Apple Lossless files!) later and it's still backing-up... and I'd rather not have to go through it all again; which I assume I would have to do if I re-formatted.

2. Mr X

Mr X
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,258
    Probably best to wait for some others to give you advice as Im not an expert on the topic other that to point out that FAT is handy if you intend hot swapping between PC and Mac if that's relevant to you? Also if you have a PS3 it will read from FAT - I'm not sure it does with NTFS? Like I said I'm sure someone more knowledgeable will come along soon :thumbsup:

3. Boon72

Boon72

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +104
    ntfs allows large files and is more secure, fat32 is used to use on multi platforms as mac's, ps3's, 360's dont like ntfs(genarally can read it but cant write to it) and it cant support files bigger than 2gb (used to have a limit around size but not sure what this is or if its been sorted)

4. satty55

satty55
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    Fat 32 has a 4gb file size limit which will be the main drawback for you. If you're using exclusively windows I'd use NTFS.

You can convert your current drive leaving your files intact by opening a command prompt and running: