Novice questions regarding set up

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by kroc_kroc, Dec 28, 2006.

1. kroc_kroc

kroc_kroc

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6
    Rather than reply in the Monolith thread (which I have read in full) I would like a new thread so I can easily refer to the answers for (as you will see by the questions) I am a complete novice. I'm about to confirm my DF Monolith order on the 2nd of January. This is the first time I will have a decent sub and I'm a bit overwhelmed by the amount of variables involved in setting it up. My first sub on a complete budget system was an older version of the Mordaunt Short 309 and I thought it sounded great :eek: I'm hoping to be blown away (literally) by the Monolith.

Questions in no particular order:

1. I'm not too sure about setting all my speakers to small when surely that's why we edit the cross over? Should I still set them all to small? It will feel strange setting my GR60's to small? It will also be a pain as I don't have a dedicated stereo amp so I will have to set them to large when listening to music :( unless any Z9 owners can help me out?

2. Should I choose 80Hz as a starting point and adjust from there or is there any other starting point that you can recommend? I know 80Hz is the THX recommended setting is there an optimal settings for my speaker set? What does anyone think would be a good benchmark?

3. On my amp I have the option of choosing THX Ultra2 Sub. Can I choose "yes" even thought the Monolith hasn't been certified?

If I answer yes to the above it leads to further options:

4. Boundary Gain Compensation. My Monolith will be placed quite close to a wall (almost in a corner) so I presume I should select "On" to make benefit glorious choice of having the Boundary Gain Function? or should I alter the "gain" using the Monoliths settings?

5. Is this the right way to connect it up?

Power Off.