1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

novice htpc builder

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by srbwilson, Oct 10, 2004.

1. srbwilson

srbwilson
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    i'm thinking of building my self a htpc with a silverstone case. I am an experienced pc builder so guess it should not be too difficult. Now the question i have is regarding the connection to a panasonic pwd6 plasma. The system will have a radeon 9800 pro. The cables i have routed to the plasma at the moment are a vga and component., the vga being used for x box and sky and the component for dvd.

How and what is the best way to connect the 9800 pro to the display for progessive scan via dvd? Will the output be as good as my Harmon kardon 25 dvd player and as easy to use once configured (woman proof!).

Been doing some research but its mind blowing to a noob!

any help would be appreciated.

2. inzaman

inzaman

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,023
    Does the plamsa have a dvi input, if so then that will be the best method of connection.

3. srbwilson

srbwilson
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    i think it does have the option for a dvi board, however, as the plasma is already installed, all cables are hidden in the walls, with the excpetion of a dvi cable! so not really an option.

4. KraGorn

KraGorn

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +27
    Assuming you use a decent DVD player package like TheaterTek for example the quality will be noticeably better than the HK25 .. and if you spend time twiddling with something lke FFDSHOW it'll kick the HK into a cocked-hat.