1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Not Outputing Dolby Digital on Pioneer AX5i

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Anuj, May 28, 2004.

Tags:
  1. Anuj

    Anuj
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've got a Pioneer DV-757Ai DVD player, Sky+ and a Pioneer AX5i amplifier. Both are sending Dolby Digital Signals, the DVD player through FireWire and the Sky+ through SPDIF (optical). The amplifier indicates that it is receiving a Dolby Digital signal, however, all the sound is going to Left and Righ Front speakers, and subwoofer. The Center, Rear Right and Rear Left speakers are not giving out any sound. I went to the speaker setup that the amplifier has built-in and it sent out seperate signals to each speaker including the other three that usually do nothing, and everything worked fine. What's wrong?
     
  2. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,381
    Although the receiver is receiving a DD signal it wont output it if the receiver is in stereo etc mode. Have you set it to output DD?

    Mark.
     
  3. Zone

    Zone
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2001
    Messages:
    6,527
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Barnsley
    Ratings:
    +2,115
    Exactly as Mark says.
    I sometimes put a film on after my youngest lad (4yrs going on....ooh just too smart for his own good :mad: ) has been having a mess without me knowing and I end up with the same problem :censored:
     
  4. Anuj

    Anuj
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    So how do I set it to DD on this amp? The instructions are kind of useless :lease:
     
  5. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    Press MOVIE on the remote, use the arrow keys to select the format you want and press ENTER.
     
  6. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,381
    Also from the DVD menu select the audio setup option and select it to output DD. This can normally be done on the players menus or from the menu on tha actual disks.

    Mark.
     
  7. deckard

    deckard
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    425
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    leicester
    Ratings:
    +0
    I fell into a similar pitfall when I set up my AX5i/757Ai.

    Even though you're using i-link, you need to go into the 757's menu and tell it it's connected via 5.1 leads, if you don't do this the 757 will only output a 2 channel DD bitstream, which is what your amp is picking up.

    This is where you're going wrong, done it myself!

    PS have a look in the 757 manual, it's in there with a bit of searching.
     
  8. Anuj

    Anuj
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep, pressed Movie and everything works fine now. Thanks.
     

Share This Page

Loading...