1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Not in a freeview area - anything I can do?

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by Sun, Nov 1, 2004.

  1. Sun

    Sun
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Messages:
    747
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Stowmarket, Suffolk
    Ratings:
    +32
    Hello,

    I moved earlier this year and found I could no longer pick up any Freeview channels on my Philips - DTR5000 (?) . I checked the signal website and it appears that my part of London - SE18 which is on a hill (I mean come on, London for gods sake!?) can't receive a signal. We can't even get CH5 on analogue :|

    Does no siganl mean no signal or is there anything I can do to change this? I really want one of them Humax PVR doobys and it's gutting not having digital anymore.

    Cheers
    Sun
     
  2. bobcar

    bobcar
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    708
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +21
    If you absolutely can't get freeview, how abot Sky with an FTV card.
     
  3. John7

    John7
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2,032
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +459
    Move again! :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
     
  4. Sun

    Sun
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Messages:
    747
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Stowmarket, Suffolk
    Ratings:
    +32
    bobcar how does that work? How can I get a skybox and not pay sky and then where do freetoview cards come from? This is an area I knew nothing about.

    Cheers
     
  5. bobcar

    bobcar
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    708
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +21
    You have 2 choices.

    1. Sky do a service called freesat. This has a one off fee of £150 and gives you 140 channels.

    2. You can get a Sky digibox (£30.00 plus on ebay) + dish etc, install them yourself or pay someone to install them and then pay SKy £20.00 for an FTV (free to view) card, though this card may only last for a few years and you have to pay again.
     
  6. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    Or you can try bigger aerial or different aerial on to a DTTV TX
     
  7. bobcar

    bobcar
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    708
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +21
    Agreed that's the easiest way if he can. Thats why I prefixed my first reply with "if you really can't get freeview".
     
  8. Sun

    Sun
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Messages:
    747
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Stowmarket, Suffolk
    Ratings:
    +32
    ok I'm googling on this Freesat setup, it sounds reasonable althought I've yet to track down an actual channel listing. We do already have a dish that's still on the house from the last person that lived there so that might make it cheaper I guess..

    Can someone explain what DTTV TX is though?

    Cheers
     
  9. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    Digital Terrestrial Tele Vision

    TX = Transmitter

    Lots of non Freeview areas can get DTTV fine - eg me (official with OnD), my Uncle, and a few other places
     
  10. bobcar

    bobcar
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    708
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +21
    If its wired up ok (or you can do it yourself) then the best bet would be to buy a digibox on ebay (from about £30) and get the FTV card from Sky for £20. You can test out the box and setup before buying the card as you'll get the FTA (free to air) channels anyway.
     
  11. anonlurker

    anonlurker
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  12. Unlight

    Unlight
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,438
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +9
    And you can get the box, the dish etc and get it installed for a one off charge of £150... looking quite appealing!
     

Share This Page

Loading...