1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Norton wont stay open, is this a virus, URGUENT!!!

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by brad123, Nov 15, 2004.

  1. brad123

    brad123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    3,294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +31
    OK i have installed Norton internet security 2005. It installed ok but when i click on the icon to open up it either doesnt open or opens and closes a few seconds later, any ideas please as its bugging me now.

    Ive run various online virus checks and now found anything.

    I do get on boot up a box saying error cannot run winlogon.exe twice.

    Thanks
     
  2. .Griff.

    .Griff.
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    936
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Walsall
    Ratings:
    +74
    TBH your first mistake was installing Norton, it's awful. Anyone in the PC industry will tell you how bad their products have become over the last few years.

    Personally I'd remove it asap and replace it with something else.
     
  3. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    What constitutes the 'PC Industry' I wonder. NAV isn't the best but it's reasonable.

    While what you describe Brad could be the work of a virus, the fact you've got other errors showing up may indicate something's just broken. Take a look in Event Manager for anything which provides an indication of what's wrong .. this attempt to run Winlogon twice is bemusing, at what point did it start?

    More basically: what O/S are you runing and what level of patches have you got?
     
  4. brad123

    brad123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    3,294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +31
    wheres event manager please. I sthis the same as task manager. Im on xp.

    Heres my hijak this log.




    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\csrss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccProxy.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccSetMgr.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\Apps\ActivBoard\nhksrv.exe
    C:\Program Files\Norton Internet Security\Norton AntiVirus\navapsvc.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\slserv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\Program Files\Virtual CD v4 SDK\system\vcssecs.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\wuauclt.exe
    C:\Program Files\Java\j2re1.4.2_04\bin\jusched.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\khooker.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\spool\drivers\w32x86\3\hpztsb07.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\winxpdll32.exe
    C:\Program Files\MSN Messenger\MsnMsgr.Exe
    C:\Program Files\Microsoft ActiveSync\WCESCOMM.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\Digital Imaging\bin\hpotdd01.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Works Shared\wkcalrem.exe
    C:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\Digital Imaging\bin\hposol08.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\CCPD-LC\symlcsvc.exe
    C:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\Digital Imaging\bin\hpoevm08.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\HPZipm12.exe
    C:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\Digital Imaging\Bin\hpoSTS08.exe
    C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\AdBlocking\NSMdtr.exe
    C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
    C:\Documents and Settings\Sexy Mark\Desktop\stinger.exe
    C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office10\EXCEL.EXE
    C:\Documents and Settings\Sexy Mark\Desktop\HijackThis.exe

    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://<br /> F1 - win.ini: run=C:...va/cfs31235.cab
    O16 - DPF: ConferenceRoom Java Client - http://nsw-chat.telstra.com/java/cr.cab
    O16 - DPF: DigiChat Applet - http://host7.digichat.com/DigiChat/...s/Client_IE.cab
    O16 - DPF: {02BCC737-B171-4746-94C9-0D8A0B2C0089} (Microsoft Office Template and Media Control) - http://office.microsoft.com/templates/ieawsdc.cab
    O16 - DPF: {02BF25D5-8C17-4B23-BC80-D3488ABDDC6B} (QuickTime Object) - http://www.apple.com/qtactivex/qtplugin.cab
    O16 - DPF: {2B323CD9-50E3-11D3-9466-00A0C9700498} (Yahoo! Audio Conferencing) - http://us.chat1.yimg.com/us.yimg.co...v45/yacscom.cab
    O16 - DPF: {2BC66F54-93A8-11D3-BEB6-00105AA9B6AE} (Symantec AntiVirus scanner) - http://security.symantec.com/sscv6/...bin/AvSniff.cab
    O16 - DPF: {31B7EB4E-8B4B-11D1-A789-00A0CC6651A8} (Cult3D ActiveX Player) - http://www.cult3d.com/download/cult.cab
    O16 - DPF: {644E432F-49D3-41A1-8DD5-E099162EEEC5} (Symantec RuFSI Utility Class) - http://security.symantec.com/sscv6/...n/bin/cabsa.cab
    O16 - DPF: {6B4788E2-BAE8-11D2-A1B4-00400512739B} (PWMediaSendControl Class) - http://216.249.24.143/code/PWActiveXImgCtl.CAB
    O16 - DPF: {74D05D43-3236-11D4-BDCD-00C04F9A3B61} (HouseCall Control) - http://a840.g.akamai.net/7/840/537/...all/xscan53.cab
    O16 - DPF: {917623D1-D8E5-11D2-BE8B-00104B06BDE3} (CamImage Class) - http://webcams.jerseyinsight.com/AxisCamControl.ocx
    O16 - DPF: {9A9307A0-7DA4-4DAF-B042-5009F29E09E1} (ActiveScan Installer Class) - http://www.pandasoftware.com/activescan/as5/asinst.cab
    O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.c...8002.4553819444
    O16 - DPF: {AE9DCB17-F804-11D2-A44A-0020182C1446} (IntraLaunch.MainControl) - file://Q:\SuperCD\IntraLaunch.CAB
    O16 - DPF: {C606BA60-AB76-48B6-96A7-2C4D5C386F70} (PreQualifier Class) - http://www.blueyonder.co.uk/assets/...tivePreQual.cab
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/...ash/swflash.cab
    O16 - DPF: {E855A2D4-987E-4F3B-A51C-64D10A7E2479} (EPSImageControl Class) - http://tools.ebayimg.com/eps/active...ol_v1-0-3-0.cab
    O16 - DPF: {F58E1CEF-A068-4C15-BA5E-587CAF3EE8C6} (MSN Chat Control 4.5) - http://fdl.msn.com/public/chat/msnchat45.cab
     
  5. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Go to Control Panel, Admin Tools, Computer Management, double-click Event Viewer and then System .. you should get a list of events in the right-hand panel, you're looking for any 'Error' entries. They're pretty technical and often inscrutable but sometimes you'll see the name of a file or something to give you a clue.

    BTW, you said you're on XP, what patch level? SP2? SP1a?

    Don't see anything obviously strange in that log.
     
  6. brad123

    brad123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    3,294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +31
  7. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Double click the top one.

    You say you don't know what service pack you're using, do you regularly use Windows Update to apply Microsoft's patches?

    To find what if nay service pack you're using right-click My Computer and see what it says under 'System:'.

    Do I take it these problems started as soon as you'd installed NIS or was it working and then broke?
     
  8. brad123

    brad123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    3,294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +31
    It says version 2002.

    It was fine up untill last week. I started getting the logon.exe error message on boot up. Then sometimes last week i couldnt connect to my email servers. Then norton wouldnt open.

    So i bought a new norton 2005 today and installed that today and it wont open.
     
  9. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Ah, okay, so things started going awry before-hand. In that case probably installing NIS 2005 has only served to complicate things.

    So it says 'Version 2002', does it not say 'Service Pack ...' below? If not then you appear to be running an un-patched system, you didn't tell me if you've been using Windows Update to patch your PC.

    Did you double-click that event log entry to see what it said?

    I take it from your questions you don't have a lot of technical knowledge, that makes it a bit hard because discovering what's broken and trying to fix it could be hard.

    First I'd uninstall NIS 2005, which may or may not achieve anything. Next I'd try to use the XP install CD to do a 'Repair', in the hope it will somehow fix the broken login.

    Have you been creating System Restore points you can use to try to recover?

    Frankly I suspect in the end you'll probably have to re-install from scratch to clean out whatever's causing this, I see little scope for you to diagnose the problem.
     

Share This Page

Loading...