1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Norton AV won't start - virus ?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by HMHB, Feb 29, 2004.

  1. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    26,645
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +5,364
    Norton Antivirus 2002 on my brother's computer will not auto-protect - it doesn't load up into Windows XP system tray even when you tell it to. It won't do a full system scan, it starts and then just stops, it won't do a live update, and it won't let you set the auto-protect to ON.
    It had previously been working and he can't remember when the icon stopped appearing in the system tray.
    He uninstalled it and reinstalled but it still won't work. He's also run a virus scan from the symantec web-site but that didn't find anything wrong.
    Has anyone got any ideas please as I'm getting fed up with all the phone calls !!
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    has he tried the scan using the CD on istall? also try disconnecting from net before doing this. Also has his subscription run out???
     
  3. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    26,645
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +5,364
    His subscription is still OK. I went round there this morning and booted up from the NAV CD but it didn't see the c: drive - maybe because it's NTFS ? Also, if this is run from the CD it will only have virus definitions on there up to 2002 I'd have thought.
    I've suggested in the meantime that he downloads the removal tool from symantec and tried uninstalling with this. He says that he's also run something on-line called "stop-sign" and that tells him that there are files infected with Backdoor.Beast.206 and Trojan.Downloader.131 - yet Norton did not find these.
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    Hmm does not look good. either an online trial job or a new Anti Virus system to clean it out.
     
  5. JSW

    JSW
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    4,283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Staffs
    Ratings:
    +333
    The problem is with CCAPP.exe not loading up

    Does he have lots of other background stuff loading on startup ?

    Get him to search symantec site for CCAPP and it will explain wat to do to fix the problem.

    Edit:

    Just re read about the trojan

    If its been on sometime then as is probably the case his antivirus has been dissabled.

    Download Antitrojan and get rid of them them do a complete uninstall of norton anti virus (instructions on symantecs site)

    Then re install and do a complete system scan in safe mode.

    Hope that helps
     

Share This Page

Loading...