Normal TV and DVD, not HDTV. Which PJ ?

M

madhatter

Hi.

Made a few postings on here recently and Im getting some great feedback, so thank for everyone who contributes.

Having read the review on projector central of the ptae 700, it seems that it might actually be more than I need. As I mentioned in other posts, I only anticipate connecting the PJ to my DVD player, just using the 'cinema' for watching films.

Is the Panny more than I need ? I'll only be feeding it with standard DVD video, none of the high def stuff. Would I be better of going for a lower cost 854 x 480 machine ? Will I benefit from the 1280 x 720 native resolution of the panny ?

My point is, I wont see the benefit of anything capable of displaying a resolution greater than that of the source.... will I ?

Do you know, Im an electronics engineer for a radar systems company so I am pretty clued up on all the technical nonsense that flies around the world.... but I just can't get my head round this ..... :confused: :confused:

Why am I being so stupid.

Chris.

Recently someone posted that the pixels in an LCD make up 50-60% of the image - the remaining percentage is the gaps inbetween the pixels. If you buy a 1280x720 PJ that equals 921,600 pixels. The visable gaps will be much less with that many pixels. Also you are future proofing a bit.
If you ever went down the HTPC route, you could upscale your image to above 1280x720 to produce a sharper image.

Hi Chris,

Not stupid, you're making an excellent point. :)

There are many arguments that can be deployed in this discussion depending on one's own point and view and usage of one's home cinema. I started with an AE300 (9??x540 IIRC) on a 92" screen. After the initial 'wow' had worn off it became apparent that good though the 300 was for minimal screen-door at the size I was projecting (viewing from 11') the resolution was too small.