• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Noob xbmc questions

Jimmy Grease

Established Member
Hi everyone just looking for some advice,

Im looking at running xbmc for streaming from the net and my nas i have seen it running on appletv but would prefer if i did not have to buy a new piece of hardware and im not really into apple.. Anyway i have a desktop, a netgear stora, a samsung smart tv,ps3 and 360 and other various tablets and pbones.. Now is there anyway i can install xbmc onto my smart tv?? Im thinking this would be the easiest option, or could i install it onto my stora and some home lainch it from a game console ? Im sorry folks im a complete noob at this i have done some google searches but found nothing that maxe any sense..

Any way thanks for any info.

moraybank

Established Member
You can't install Xbmc on your TV.

You could install it on your desktop via HDMI (if your graphic card supports it). This may not be a practical solution though.

I know nothing about your NAS but I very much doubt it, otherwise your NAS would be very popular. There are NAS' boxes which do Xbmc but I haven't seen one I like yet.

Realistically if you want XBMC you are going to need to buy new hardware, and a used ATV2 which has been jailbroken will still cost you a pretty penny.
Pivos and LBB offer Xbmc solutions for around the £90-100+ mark.

Otherwise build or buy an HTPC. Infact a HP Microserver with graphics card would be a perfect solution, NAS & HTPC running Xbmc combined in one box. The cheapest option out the lot would be to buy a Raspberry Pi and run Xbmc through it, although this would require a degree of tinkering.

Last edited:

jammyb2004

Established Member
Hi everyone just looking for some advice,