Noob questions regarding Raydon's Media Bundle

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by boccy23, Sep 6, 2012.

Tags:
  1. boccy23

    boccy23
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All

    I have recently purchased a HUMAX FOXSAT and see here a lot of information regarding this Media Bundle from Raydon.

    Could someone please explain in simple terms what the advantages are and aif there are any downside to installing this software?

    Thanks.
     
  2. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    24,436
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,159
    There is no downside really, the box works normally as the built in software isn't modified in any way.

    Firstly if your Foxsat isn't connected to your home network then there is zero advantage as well.

    Roughly how it works.

    The custom firmware sets up a website on your box that you log into with any common webbrowser using pc's tablet pcs smart phones etc. Once installed through a very simple interface you install applications known as packages on the box.

    Examples of the extra capability you get via computer using packages are.

    A user customisable epg, you get to use a proper keyboard for searches.

    The capability to stream SD recordings to other networked kit without affecting the main box user.

    Streaming the live output a little behind real time by streaming the time shift buffer file. (works for HD).

    Direct access to the HDD hard disc either in Windows Explorer or using ftp.

    A fully functioning remote control with favourites icons and recordable button macros.

    The capability to view and set manual recordings for non-freesat channrls without having to switch modes. For instance you can have a channel number for Sky news that simply works by entering the number.

    Capability to control the box over the internet. This includes setting recording reservations. Say you are going away for longer than a week and need to set a reservation for a new series not yet in the epg. No problem do it remotely anywhere there's a net connection.

    When combined with AV2HDR the capability to upload your own video content to the internal HDD.

    Probably forgot a few. :D
     
  3. boccy23

    boccy23
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks.

    In normal mode, can I change between Freesat and Non-Freesat mode easily?
     
  4. adrianf36

    adrianf36
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    481
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Ratings:
    +503
    No need to switch modes.

    The channel editor package available once you've installed the bundle allows you to change non-freesat channels so that they appear in the Freesat channel list. So no need to change into non Freesat mode any more in order to watch e.g. Sky News, just switch to the 5xxx channel number whilst in Freesat mode and away you go (after editing the channel in the channel editor that is).
     
  5. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    24,436
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,159
    Once you have manually tuned some fta content the settings menu has an extra option STB Mode Freesat/Non-Freesat.
     
  6. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,759
    Welcome to the forum boccy23.
    This should really have been posted within the main thread for the topic, but the summary could be useful to other newcomers so it can stay separate for a while.
     
  7. Alloneword

    Alloneword
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Why not make it sticky might come in handy for people new to the box!! Just a thought you understand..

    Thanks graham & adrian for your comments.

    All1
     
  8. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,759
    Not a bad idea - I'll think about it - Logi
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice