1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Noob question......walls....screens

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by brightonrvf, Sep 27, 2004.

1. brightonrvf

brightonrvf

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +426
    Please bear with me as i am just getting into the whole scene, i am interested in getting a large screen of sorts either a plasma or a pj, i have a nice big white wall that i could throw the image onto, bearing this in mind do i need a screen? I had a look at some of the photos of what people haqve done and the images on the screens were top notch, is this because they are on screens and therefore a uniform background?

Cheers

JM

2. Gary Lightfoot

Gary Lightfoot

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,953
    You can get a surprisingly good image from a white wall, provided it's a matt white (give it three good coats of new paint to be sure), and is flat with no lumps bumps etc.

It does look better if it has a black border though. Pull-down screens can be bought quite cheaply, but they can sometimes suffer from ripples. If the image is too dim for the size you want, then a screen with gain is probably the best option. At least with the wall, you will get a good idea of what size you prefer if you want to go for a screen later.

Gary.

3. FlyingBig

FlyingBig
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Gary, what screen do you own? I can backup that pull down screens suffer from ripples. I have just off loaded a pull down screen and i am looking for a decent flat screen as a consequence i tried abit of D.I.Y and have bought a cheap bit of board and painted it white and the quality is surprisingly good but the next coat of paint will have to be non reflective paint as the glossy paint i used is reflecting pretty bad :(

P.S. DO NOT BUY A PLASMA!

4. Gary Lightfoot