1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Noob needs help-my brain hurts :(

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by BALLISTIX, Dec 10, 2004.

  1. BALLISTIX

    BALLISTIX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello all :hiya:

    Ok lets get to it!
    I've been lurking on the forums for some time now attempting to educate myself :laugh: and have now decided plasma is the path I should take :thumbsup:

    Currently I have Telewest cable digibox (Pace) a 28" widescreen CRT with a Samsung SV-DVD1E VHS/DVD combo connected with scart cables.
    I also have X-box, cube, ps2 which I connect to the CRT with the standard composite leads.

    Now the brain fade part :D
    Main use would be the consoles, followed by DVD's then watching (mainly) motorsports on Eurosport also Discovery channel.

    I have decided on the Panny TH-42PWD7BS screen but, is it worth keeping the VHS/dvd combo (no progressive scan) and adding an amp and speakers?
    How much difference does progressive scan make anyway?

    or purchase a new DVD recorder/home cinema all in one system?

    Recomendations on the above upto the £500 mark as I'm not fanatical about all things AV, also as I live in a terraced house, sound levels needs to be kept resonable so expensive kit would be a waste?

    The main part I'm falling down on is how to connect all this up to maximum effect :rolleyes:

    How does this sound?

    Cable TV - Scart -------------
    Consoles - Composite -------------Quintro+ RGB Scart Switch Box
    (currentVHS/DVD) - Scart -------------
    DVD/home cinema - ? no idea -------------

    Also would I need to add JS RGB to Component (YUV) converter, or would Quintro - PW7 via a scart - BNC composite(?) be ok?

    Thoughts/recommendations/suggestions appreciated.

    Many thanks
    Andy.
     
  2. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Hmm, think you need RGB kits for the consoles, and surround wise, a Pioneer VSX402 will get you going, and a speaker pack that fits your eyes, ears and wallet, should not be that hard? The 402 has 3 scart inputs and 1 out, make sure you use the one labelled TV the for plasma, the 'video' one is RGB in only, not out, so you will get a rubbish picture if you use that. You might have to piggy back one of your devices, but this will get you up and running in no time. It's your call whether to go for a scart board or a JS RGB to VGA converter, not a big cost difference. It might be good to get a component board now as sellers are reluctant to sell them separately. Then you can get yourself a prog scan player later.
     
  3. BALLISTIX

    BALLISTIX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for your reply MAW, now you've got me confused :laugh:

    You'll have to excuse my ignorance as I know zero about amps, speakers and home cinema systems (never had one)

    Pioneer VSX402 = ? I googled/ebay'd it and found out nothing :laugh:
    Is it is some kind of home cinema amp? I take it you are suggesting I keep my current VHS/DVD combo and add an amp+speakers?

    When you suggest RGB kits, does this mean console-RGB scart for the different consoles? or something else altogether?

    Funding is'nt an issue, but I don't want to buy expensive sound equipment that would frankly be wasted being in a terraced house, I don't see any point.
    However I do want the best possible image (from all sources) I can get to the display, I also want to do away with swapping over leads from the consoles which is why I thought the Quintro was a good option.

    Can I not put the JS scart-componant in line to the plasma after the quintro, or is this a waste of time?

    Thanks
    Andy.

    P.S. how can a signal be improved by a JS converter when you're feeding the converter from a cable box scart lead in the first place?
     
  4. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    I see your point on lead swapping, but you can put 1 device into the VCR scart on the cable box and use pass thru, then all will be plugged. The VSX is a scart switching DD/DTS amp, not bad, 75wpc, which is not OTT for a small/medium room. They are just over £200. A speaker pack at £150 or so, or more if you can afford and like them will be fine. The JS converter get around the slightly weak scart video board on the Panasonic screen. We are getting quite picky here, but if you have the option to buy without a board, or choose a board, I'd go for the component for future proofing, and get a JS VGA converter, cable/freeview etc look marginally better with this than component, and both are better than panasonic scart.
     
  5. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
  6. BALLISTIX

    BALLISTIX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hornydragon thanks for the link, I had actually read that thread before but somehow managed to forget about it :laugh:

    So is this what I need?

    1. PW7
    1. BNC componant board for later upgrade (or do I wait untill the 50Hz thing is resolved?).
    1. JS RGB to Plasma Screen VGA converter.
    1. VSX402 or similar.
    1. set of 5.1 speakers.
    3. Scart leads for cube, ps2 and x-box

    Has the panel already got a d-sub vga port on it? or am I talking out of my bottom :laugh:

    The only things I am unsure of is which board I need for the JS RGB to Plasma Screen VGA converter.
    Which/how many leads I need to hook it all up.

    Thanks again MAW and Hornydragon.
     
  7. BALLISTIX

    BALLISTIX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Now found the cause of my confusion :clap:

    The PW7 does not have the D-sub VGA connector fitted, so a JS RGB-VGA converter is no use on this panel unless you buy the D-sub board.
    :rolleyes:
    So I'm now off to do more research and possibly change my choise of panel :eek:
     
  8. Repo

    Repo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    430
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK.
    Ratings:
    +21
    It does have the VGA D-sub connector :)
     
  9. BALLISTIX

    BALLISTIX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The TH-42PWD7BS does not have the D-sub port.

    The PW6 and the TH-42PHD7 do.
     
  10. Ken

    Ken
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2000
    Messages:
    360
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Stoke-on-Trent
    Ratings:
    +1
    The PW7 does have a vga d-sub connection, as I have my pc connected to it, but I believe it is not component compliant.

    Ken
     
  11. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Wot R U on man! Course it does, but as above, it won't accept YUV signals, I think panny were losing video board sales....
     
  12. BALLISTIX

    BALLISTIX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    :D MAW I was on the tech sheet on AV-sales which has no mention of the TH-42PWD7E/B having a D-sub connector as standard fitment, or is this yet another different screen?

    How many different PW7's are there? :eek:

    This is turning into a mare tbh :rotfl:

    Appologies for my lack of knowledge Ken :blush:
     
  13. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Look, you're gonna have to trust us all here, I've seen hundreds of these B***Y things, they DO have a VGA D-Sub, F*** AV sales spec sheet!!!!!
     
  14. BALLISTIX

    BALLISTIX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    :laugh: MAW this is making me laugh let alone the hurt brain lol.

    So to clarify the TH-42PWD7 does have a VGA D-sub as standard, but can you still use the JS RGB-VGA converter to connect Sky/Cable to the panel? or is it only of any use to connect a PC to?
     
  15. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    JS box works fine mate...
     
  16. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    That's why I suggested it. Only problem is any non-RGB sources like VCR will not produce a signal, you'd need a scart board instead for that, cos that will do the lot for you.
     
  17. BALLISTIX

    BALLISTIX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok folks have I got this correct? :laugh:

    1) Cable box (tv) scart - JS-RGB/VGA- VGA cable into D-sub port on panel.

    2) Cable box (vcr) scart - DVD/VHS combi AV2(dec/ext)

    3) DVD/VHS combi AV1 (euro-in/out) - VSX402s (scart1/in)

    4) PS2 & Gamecube - 2-1 scart switcher - VSX402s (scart2/in)

    5) X-box - VSX402s (scart3/in)

    6) VSX402s scart out - scart in on PW7

    The only problem I see with this is how do I get any sound to the VSX402s ref #1?
    Cable box has left and right sound outputs (phono jacks?) how do I connect this to VSX because I dont see any inputs on the VSX to do it :rolleyes:

    Thanks
    Andy
     
  18. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Will need scart board not **component board** and Scart cables carry L+R Audio only need digital for DVD deck/XBOX for 5.1, stereo/Surround from rest of kit Via scart lead
     
  19. BALLISTIX

    BALLISTIX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hornydragon I've edited my previous post, will this now work?

    How come I get Nicam/surround sound from the cube/DVD via composite and scart respectively to my 28" Nicam/surround CRT?
    Surely with everything connected to the VSX via scart, it should output nicam/surround from those sources?

    Also I still don't understand how I'm going to get sound to the VSX via option #1.
    :rolleyes:
     
  20. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    sacrt cant carry 5.1 *YOU ARE NOT LISTENING TO 5.1 VIA YOUR TV* the DVD/VHS combi makes this hard work does it have 2 VCR scarts and 1 DVD scart per chance? and does it have component out for DVD??? I would try this if possible..........
    connect consoles to this:
    http://www.argos.co.uk/webapp/wcs/s...atalogId=2501&productId=103441&clickfrom=name
    Scart adapter with consoles to AV3 on AMP
    DVD/VHS to AV2 on AMP
    CABLE TV to AV1 on AMP
    CABLE VCR to VCR
    VCR TV scart to scart board on PW6/7
    AV OUT of AMP to JS RGB>VGA (need RGB leads for consoles ** well worth £10-£15** per console) that way the amp gives sound for all your get 5.1 for XBOX and DVD (both need digital OPTICAL connection to Amp) and you can use the VCR tuner for PIP/PAP etc also cable via VCR
    Example you can set reminders for Cable in half of screen while kids play GC on other half.....
     
  21. BALLISTIX

    BALLISTIX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hornydragon, nice try but no cigar! :D
    The VHS/DVD combo only has 2 scarts :suicide:
    1 RGB (in/out)
    1 in only (none RGB)

    I've decided to scrap DVD/VCR idea as it is too much hassle :rolleyes:
    So upstairs to bedroom it goes :thumbsup: and say :hiya: to a DVD recorder :smashin:

    Recomendations for a good DVD recorder to compliment the Pioneer VSXC402s welcome :)

    Thanks again
    Andy.

    P.S. I will get there in the end damit :D
     
  22. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Choose a Pioneer, the vsx remote will work it. Will turn a Panny on and off, and select inputs too.
     
  23. BALLISTIX

    BALLISTIX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Lets have another go :rotfl:

    Equipment

    cable tv
    Panasonic TH-42PWD7BS
    pioneer VSX-C402-S a/v receiver
    pioneer DVR-220-S DVD recorder
    xbox
    ps2
    cube

    ------------------------------

    Connection

    Cable box - VSX via RGB scart
    DVR - VSX via RGB scart

    xbox -
    cube - all to 3-1 RGB scart switcher - VSX via RGB scart
    ps2 -

    VSX - JS RGB-VGA converter - VGA D-sub on panel

    consoles will all have RGB leads, with xbox sound connected to amp via optical (will get the xbox chipped + hi-def kit when RCA componant boards are available for panny)

    So what do you think :D

    Thanks
    Andy.
     
  24. PTG

    PTG
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thx guys, this is the most entertaining thread I have read for a long time :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
     
  25. BALLISTIX

    BALLISTIX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  26. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    ANDY you git it took me a while to sort all that out for you but a DVDR (in this case i reconmend pio reason as stated by MAW..... if you want to record from cable in top quality then i would say go cable>DVDR>AMP and then we have a conundrum....... cable>DVDR>amp>Screen could use component DVDR convert RGB to YUV for you...... XBOX/PS2/GC can all output YUV as well......... so now you want an AMP with 4 component inputs....... ( i would go for one with 3) and then use RGB>VGA for GC/PS2/Xbox short term and then component for DVD adding componet for Xbox/PS2 later....... Sorry to screw you around but i wouldn't be doing this properly if i didnt give you the option..
    http://www.pioneer.co.uk/uk/product_detail.jsp?product_id=8431&taxonomy_id=62-98
    similar price and 2 component inputs.... or loads of choice with 2 inputs......... there are 4 more options connectivity wise i havent listed as i dont want to flummux you totally.........
    Sorry mate.....................
    However previous plan will work fine..
     
  27. BALLISTIX

    BALLISTIX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hornydragon, your input/suggestions are most welcome :smashin:

    If I can do it another way and get a better result, IMO it's worth being flexible about the the options/equipment involved :)

    Andy
     
  28. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    they are now as they have no boards (RCA) to sell.......
    personally i would want 3-4 component inputs these days..... as HDMI becomes more common (next 6 months) i hope S-video will be limeited to 2-3 inputs and the 3-4 component inputs........
     
  29. BALLISTIX

    BALLISTIX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    So does anyone know why there are no RCA componant boards comming from Panasonic?
    What's the problem? I did a search on the forums and found nothing on this subject.
     
  30. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Panny weren't selling them (they were but not in huge volume) so they dumped the stock (no idea where)
     

Share This Page

Loading...