Noob Here -- What to do?

Gawlfa

Novice Member
Hello All,
I'm new to VR. I had ordered an Index, but then was given a Quest 2 as a gift -- so I cancelled my order for the Index. (I figure the Q2 will help me determine if I like VR gaming and eventually I can upgrade to a better device if needed.)

The Quest 2 arrives today. I bought a generic/compatible pc link cable, headphones, and carry case to protect it. I ordered a powerful gaming PC with a 3080 GPU back in early October and it also arrives today. Been a long wait! The gaming PC was purchased for my golf simulator studio, but I also figured it would be perfect for VR and the space is perfect as well.

I just want to get a few things straight in my head so I don't mess up configuring everything when I get it)

1) I want to play games on SteamVR. (Half Life: Alyx, Boneworks, Medal of Honor, etc.) Do I just need to install steam on the new computer and make the purchases through my Steam account and when I connect the Quest 2 to the gaming computer with the pc link cable, I will then just launch Steam and the game I want to play?
2) Do I need to "Sideload" steam games or is that just for games stored on the headset? (I'm assuming the steam games I purchase will be stored on the gaming pc -- hopefully that is the correct assumption.)
3) If a game is in the Oculus store and in the Steam store, which one should I purchase? Or, does it make a difference? I have seen references to "crossplay" in a few of the threads, but still not quite sure exactly what would be best.

Thanks for the help.

buddyspudface

1:that all seems about right if using the cable.
2:again correct, no side loading ( sidequest )of games required if playing steam games.