1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Non Modded XBox and Plasma

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by dUnKle, May 31, 2004.

  1. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,478
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,409
    Currently have XBOX connected via S-Video into my Amp then into my TV

    Will shortly be getting a Plasma which has two sets of component inputs ....

    Can I get a cable which will allow XBOX to connect to the component input

    and Will it be better than the current S-Video ?

    I have no intention of modding my XBOX
     
  2. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
  3. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,478
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,409
    thank you very much

    one has been ordered

    not sure how good the difference will be - but im sure it will be better than the S-Vid that I am currently using

    Am I correct in understanding that I will not get progressive scan unless I get it modded ?
     
  4. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    no progresive scan on PAL xbox. I bought a US Xbox to overcome this.

    Neil.
     
  5. Jason S

    Jason S
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    mod the box, switch to NTSC, then you get progressive. Otherwise no prog scan.

    BTW, it makes a huge difference to my eyes.

    Prepare for lot's of warnings about modded XBoxes and XBox live though....
     
  6. ianharvey

    ianharvey
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Messages:
    57
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tends to discount this option ;-)
     
  7. Jason S

    Jason S
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

    Kinda explains the position though. no mod, no prog scan.... :devil:

    Now is the time for Duncan to decide what's really important, a stunning picture, or a vanilla XBox.

    Interlaced is OK via component, but is really stunning when it's made progressive. Some plasma panels will de-interlace (as does mine) but the progressive input is still preferred and gives a far superior image.
     
  8. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    Actually I've found away to use prog scan without modding the Xbox. Details soon.
     
  9. DDRUK_Lawrence

    DDRUK_Lawrence
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    We want details NOW! ;) ;)
     
  10. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,478
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,409

    thats for sure
     
  11. ianharvey

    ianharvey
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Messages:
    57
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tell me more
     
  12. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,478
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,409
    go on

    tell all
     
  13. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,603
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +6,701
    Yeah, that's just not fair. I was gonna get my x-box modded but if I can get hidef out of it without modding it then I'd love to know how!

    Cheers,
    Andy.
     
  14. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
  15. Jason S

    Jason S
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    This exploits been around for a while, and works.
     
  16. zedzed

    zedzed
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    817
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Linlithgow (nr. Edinburgh)
    Ratings:
    +13
    Read over the atricle - and doing this will me to run the Evox dashboard - but the video settings can't be changed from Evox - can they?

    ZedZed
     

Share This Page

Loading...