Non-amplified subwoofer for Yamaha RX-S602

Geppo

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi, apologies in advance if these are silly questions, but I'm a beginner, never had a home-cinema before.
I just bought a Yamaha RX-S602 receiver and thinking about buying a subwoofer.
In the Owner's Manual it says "Use a subwoofer with built-in amplifier", which I find slightly annoying because I guess:
  • I will have to plug-in the subwoofer to the mains (yet another cable...)
  • I will have to switch it on/off every time, unless there is some sort of standby mode (but that would still use quite a bit of electricity? already have the AV receiver and my media-centre PC always on standby...)
Questions:
  1. Could I connect a passive subwoofer instead? I wonder if the Yamaha statement is just a guideline to achieve the best sound possible rather than a mandatory requirement
  2. I've noticed some subwoofers have 2 medium size speakers rather than 1 big one. Would one sound better than the other? I'm more interested in sound quality than power
  3. Any recommendations for a £100-150 budget? My room is a rather small 3x3m and I have neighbours above, below and on 2 sides so I can't play loud music

No you can't. The subwoofer out socket on your yahama is not amplified.

All powered subwoofers need a mains cable. many offer stand by mode.

Some small sealed sub would be ideal, but with that budget you only get those uber cheap ported boxes which won`t sound good. CA Minx X201 is very small and it won`t play low, but the range it plays it should sound good, even better (cleaner and punchier) than the larger X301 after reading comparison review from one experienced person. It has one 6,5" active driver and two passive (not powered) drivers. 199£ at RS so hopefully you can up your budget little. It has auto on feature and i wouldn´t about electricity bill, hah.