Nokia N73 Firmware Upgrade: How To!

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones Forum' started by Obskure, Dec 30, 2006.

Tags:
  1. Obskure

    Obskure
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Messages:
    387
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Mayo, Eire
    Ratings:
    +30
    Hi Folks!
    Have just received my N73 this morning following purchase on these trading forums(A1 service too). I'm about to upgrade the firmware on the phone. Currently it's V2.0628.0.0.1, rm-133, Nokia N73 (58.01). I'm going to upgrade to V3 using Nemisis Software Suite, Nokia PC Suite, & Nokia Software Update.
    Then, I'll update to N73 Music Edition, Documenting the process along the way.
    1) Download the three programs underlined above and install.
    2)Run PC Suite first, and follow instructions. this will install cable drivers etc. Close when finished.
    3)Run Nemisis Software Suite(NSS). Click the icon in the top right-hand corner(scan). Then click on "Phone info". On the right hand side of the screen you will see product code. Press Read. The code will appear in blue. At this stage you type in the new product code 0527009. Click Enable box and then click Write. Only takes a few seconds. Close the Application then.
    4)Run Nokia Software Update. Follow instructions on screen. Ensure that the mobile is fully charged.
    At this stage the N73 has been updated to V3.0638.0.0.1, 30-10-2006, RM-133, Nokia N73(01). This will solve bluetooth dropout problems as well as other bug-fixes.

    If at this stage you still want to continue change the firmware to the N73 Music Edition, It's the same as before just using a different product code with NSS.
    1)Run NSS as before, scanning for device,select phone info, and read product code. At this stage, you change the code for this "0537289" Euro 1(Music Edition Product Code). Click Enable, then Write. Close NSS.
    2)Run NSU and follow instructions on screen.
    When finished(about 25 mins, depending on connection speed) You will have a firmware identical phone to the N73ME.

    Disclaimer:- I have put this guide together myself following alot of research on other sites and forums. I don't take responsibilty for any outcomes, good or bad. It worked for me & I hope it works for you.
     
  2. dan77

    dan77
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    210
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +11
    Many many thanks for this.

    Have just upgraded to the Music Edition. The phone is noticeably faster and more responsive now.

    Thanks for bringing all the info into one post. :clap:
     
  3. Ludicrous69

    Ludicrous69
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dont suppose you can post or send a link to Nemesis for me?
     
  4. dan77

    dan77
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    210
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +11
    Here you go!

    Scroll down to the bottom and select the beta version (4.86Mb). I was told on another thread that this was fine to use.

    All very straight forward if you follow the instructions above.
     
  5. Ludicrous69

    Ludicrous69
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    :rolleyes: Thanks, so could I use nemesis to change the region of my mobile, this mobile is a gift to my russian friend but it doesnt have russian on it so is it possible to change the product code so that next time i run the NSU it will install the russian version of firmware?

    can you tell me the original product code, i should have wrote it down really
     
  6. tonycav

    tonycav
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Many Thanks from me too,

    Used as directed & worked a treat

    :clap: :clap:
     
  7. dan77

    dan77
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    210
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +11
    Hmm, getting a bit beyond my level of expertise (not that hard!)

    There is another thread on here with all the codes listed. What you're saying sounds logical but I'm not 100% sure. I just did a search for N73.

    Hope this helps.
     
  8. /////AMG

    /////AMG
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    893
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +28
    Looks like a good How-To guide but for the last week my N73 doesn't connect to PC Suite, doesn't recoginize anything.

    Anyone have any solutions to this?
     
  9. Obskure

    Obskure
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Messages:
    387
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Mayo, Eire
    Ratings:
    +30
    Hi AMG,
    Had a problem similar to this myself! I actually still have a problem with Windows thinging I'm installing new hardware each time they connect via bluetooth or cable. Anyway, when pcsuite didn't work I just removed it via the control panel. If there's a problem after that a quick of fone and windows should sort it out.
    P.S. I wouldn't recommend trying the guide process unless everything is working A.O.K.
     
  10. Obskure

    Obskure
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Messages:
    387
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Mayo, Eire
    Ratings:
    +30
    Ludicrous69,
    The product codes for Russia are:
    EMEA version of the regular N73-0529607

    EMEA version of the N73 Music Edition-0539279
    Hope that helps!
     
  11. Ludicrous69

    Ludicrous69
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    So if I changed the product code to the Russian product code for N73ME and ran NSU the N73 would then be a Russian varient complete with Russian language?
     
  12. Ludicrous69

    Ludicrous69
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh and many thanks, worked a treat for me too and it currently just using it as an English N73ME and it got the barcode reader working too :) altho quite what its for I can't work out
     
  13. Ludicrous69

    Ludicrous69
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok so i changed my N73 to a N73ME and used the code in the first post

    i cant remember but i dont think i ever connected the fone to PC suite after doing this

    today i did a hard reset *#7370# and when it restarted some things were missing from the fone like the nokia search and im sure a couple of other things but dont know what

    i downloaded pc suite and tried to connect but it doesnt work i get an error message from window sayin the device is not recognised and to click for help when i go further into it it says no drivers installed for it

    does the N73ME use a different version of PC Suite/drivers/cable drivers than standard N73

    i need to get this working as I want to update the firmware again as i have the fone advertised for sale
     
  14. Ludicrous69

    Ludicrous69
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    did anyone else have this problem after upgrading the firmware from N73 to N73ME
     
  15. SuperOxford

    SuperOxford
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Messages:
    195
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    I have some questions as am about to update my phone

    Should you remove the sim card & memory card before you start or just back the phone memory up using Nokia Suite?
    What mode (ie mass storage, PC Suite ect) should the phone be in when using NSS and NSU?

    Thanks
     
  16. browny

    browny
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Great, worked a treat. I've been having a problem with a program that didn't uninstall properly and wouldn't re-install. Downloaded the Nemisis software, changed my number and went to upgrade from Nokia and bobs yer uncle, phone runs faster, program re-installed ok and all them horrible blue bubble things have stopped appearing too ! In answer to SuperOxford, I connected via pc suite and worked fine. I just updated to the latest N73 though not to the music edition, not sure what the difference is between the 2, anyone care to let me know the difference and if its worthwhile? I've put the music player onto my active tool bar so I can get to it wth one button any way so what other advantages are there? Thanks obskure, great bit of advice.
    http://www.avforums.com/forums/images/smilies/luxhello.gif
    :clap:
    ps. Did have one minor panic almost from my firewall though. Nokia recommend strongly not to interupt the phone/pc during the update, left it to it and when I came back the screen saver had kicked in and Zone alarm disconnected my internet connection ! Disabled the screen saver and restarted and worked okay the second time but had me worried.
     
  17. SuperOxford

    SuperOxford
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Messages:
    195
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    I have just updated to though not to the Music Edition as well and my phone seems almost like a new phone. Far faster and running as fast as any other phone I have had.

    Version showing now is

    V 3.0649.0.0.1
    30/11/06
    RM-133
    (c)Nokia N73(01)

    I recommend it to everyone! :thumbsup:
     
  18. Obskure

    Obskure
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Messages:
    387
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Mayo, Eire
    Ratings:
    +30
    Hi Guys,
    Glad you've got it done. SuperOxford, sorry I didn't get back sooner. I'm happy it works but now that you're on that specific Version I believe you cannot change to Music Edition because it has a lower version no. i.e. You can't downgrade.
    Browny, I think the same applies although I don't know what version you have. As for the music edition Firmware differences, the Music player supports Album Art, and has two new Themes, Stave & Waveform. The reason to do this at the time was for two reasons 1) Upgrading to V.3 to solve bluetooth dropout issues. 2) To use the music player and have Album Art.
    Now the original firmware upgrade is a higher version and has supposedly fixed more issues (unknown to me as of yet). There has not been another music edition firmware upgrade yet.
     
  19. SuperOxford

    SuperOxford
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Messages:
    195
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    Thanks for your guide Obskure as it was easy to follow even for an idiot like me!

    Am not bothered about having the Music Edition version as mine 'new' phone works like a beauty. May upgrade again in the future but for now I am more than happy
     
  20. kevH

    kevH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Messages:
    833
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Live Leeds Work Chesterfield
    Ratings:
    +37
    Can anyone inform me if upgrading the firmware to the Music Edition will have any adverse effect on a Nokia N73 with pre installed CoPilot sat nav from T Mobile???
     
  21. Obskure

    Obskure
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Messages:
    387
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Mayo, Eire
    Ratings:
    +30
    KevH,
    Hi. If your sat-nav is installed on your phone then, yes, it will be removed during the firmware upgrade. On the other hand, if the program is installed on a memory card(probably not), then removing it will be fine! Maybe you have an installation cd that came with the phone?!
     
  22. kevH

    kevH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Messages:
    833
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Live Leeds Work Chesterfield
    Ratings:
    +37
    Havent yet got the phone , been offered it by T Mobile so i'll have to ask how the CoPilot comes etc etc . Just in 2 minds as to get the N73 now and upgrade the firmware to ME or wait and see if T Mobile offer the N73 ME sometime soon. T Mobile just offered me the N73 with CoPilot as they didnt know when or if they would offer the 73ME. Decisions decisions :(
     
  23. IndianaBlues

    IndianaBlues
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2,059
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +359
    Wouldn't you be able to back-up the installation of Co-Pilot and then restore your backup to the phone after you've flashed the firmware? I'd always assumed that's why the Updater asks you to backup your phone before flashing anyway...
     
  24. JiveTalker

    JiveTalker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    158
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Obskure, do you know how the Album Art feature works?

    If I copy some of my MP3/WMA albums onto a memory card and include an image (in the appropriate format & resolution) will it display automatically? :confused:

    What I'm concerned about is that the phone may try to use the web to get Album Art and I don't want it to as my tariff will charge for data downloads and if I change the music frequently that could get expensive! :eek:

    Alternatively, is there a pc based app that could get the album art through my broadband connection rather through my mobile service provider? (Microsoft Media player has already added album art to my music folders and I have also scanned some CD sleeves myself).
     
  25. Obskure

    Obskure
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Messages:
    387
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Mayo, Eire
    Ratings:
    +30
    Hi Jivetalker,
    you have no need to worry about your data charges. Phone definitely does not use GPRS for this info. If your music tracks are tagged properly then album art will appear. If it doesn't appear but you have included it the folder for file transfer, It's simply a matter of choosing options on album or track, Album art, change, then choose your pic from the list provided. If you have Itunes, You could use the "Get Album Art" feature when your albums are highlighted. Bear in mind the N73 will not play Itunes purchased material.
     
  26. JiveTalker

    JiveTalker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    158
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Obskure, that's good news.

    So I guess that would include the image files that Microsoft Media Player adds to each folder when an album is played on the pc?

    So if I want to put my own scanned image in each album folder should I just create a JPG file? What is the ideal size, would it be 240 x 240 pixels?

    I don't use Itunes, I have hundreds of CD's that I spent many weeks converting into WMA files! I wish now that I'd used MP3 for increased compatibility though.

    Thanks for your help, much appreciated.
     
  27. Obskure

    Obskure
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Messages:
    387
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Mayo, Eire
    Ratings:
    +30
    240x240 is fine. or even 200x200. Just to keep the phone running that bit faster.
    I've used 500x500 roughly and they're fine with very good resolution. I'm not actually 100% about Media Player tagging the files properly. You're best bet is to try it. I will do so later on if I get a chance!
    As for your music being in WMA format, try googling a program called DBPowerAmp(I think it's called that) If you ever want to convert to MP3 that should do it as a batch :thumbsup:
     
  28. Ludicrous69

    Ludicrous69
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Out of all the people that converted there N73 to N73ME after doing it did you have any connectivity problems regarding connecting the phone to computer using the PC Suite connection mode?
     
  29. Brad182

    Brad182
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    387
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +11
    ^^ I only did the upgrade not the ME upgrade and mine works fine, Thanks for the walkthrough Obskure. It worked a treat.

    Have got one question, how do I clear the sort of task bar thing and calender from my main screen now?? Or can I not?

    Thanks
     
  30. Obskure

    Obskure
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Messages:
    387
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Mayo, Eire
    Ratings:
    +30
    Brad182,
    go to menu, tools, settings, phone, standby mode, active standby-off! :thumbsup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...