Nokia 5800 XpressMusic - Discussion Thread Part II

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones Forum' started by Steven, May 2, 2009.

Tags:
  1. gooner18

    gooner18
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    dds,Thats sounds like a good deal :D how long ago did they give you that deal,hope i can get something as good from o2.
    gooner18
     
  2. 3T3L1

    3T3L1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    Messages:
    810
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +104
    about 4 months ago - i have been with them for about 3 years and have my broadband through them as well but i'm hardly what they would call a big spender.

    a few places have the 5800 with a fair bit of free line rental by redemption now so you can use those as a threat if they do mess you about.
     
  3. SanPedro

    SanPedro
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2001
    Messages:
    4,537
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +521
    I'd pretend you want to leave o2. They'll offer a much better package than if you go to them asking waht upgrades/deals they have. It might take a while on the phone but hold out and don't take their first offer. The phone companyies really don't want to lose customers.
     
  4. spaceman763

    spaceman763
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    939
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +78
    I've never been one for the latest and greatest phone but am seriously tempted by new iPhone 3GS or the N97 just for the sake of having one:rolleyes:. I came across the 5800 in my searches and realised that I can potentially save myself around £400 by getting one of these. The money would be spent towards a badly needed new laptop.

    I do not expect the 5800 to be better or even the same as the iPhone on N97 but was just wondering if I could do the following on the 5800:

    - access my wireless network at home and use internet for free
    - play mp3's
    - watch tv serials in avi or any other format (for use on the underground)
    - play basic games
    - download apps such as those on iphone?

    Regards
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2009
  5. Dazza1980

    Dazza1980
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    101
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +10
    Hi spaceman763,
    You can do all the above. Here are a couple of links to get you started:

    For playing your tv series, I recommened super - SUPER &copy.

    Doesn't take to long to convert and the quality is superb. If you get the 5800 and need advise on the settings, post back or send me a pm.

    For apps, the Ovi store is a good place to start - Ovi but if you read some of the other posts on this thread, you'll see that there are quite a few sites that have some to offer.

    Hope that helps and by the way, for the money, the 5800 is a fantastic little phone :thumbsup:

    Regards, nintendovip
     
  6. SanPedro

    SanPedro
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2001
    Messages:
    4,537
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +521
    Yep... I've been surfing the net from home on my 5800 with no problems. Seems to play all websites that I've tried - including stuff like youtube with no issues. The built in speaker is pretty good as well.

    The phone i got came with 6 episodes of 'gavin & Stacey' (which may or may not be your thing) but I was more than pleased with the quality of the video.

    You'd easy get a couple of movies on there with the built-in 8GB storage.
     
  7. TheFatBoy

    TheFatBoy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    Messages:
    123
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Telford
    Ratings:
    +1
    Can anybody tell me how I can go about unlocking a 5800 on Orange?

    I just got one as an upgrade for my wife, but she doesn't like the touchscreen aspect. I quite fancy having a play with it for a while and flogging my N95 8Gb on eBay, but I'm on Vodafone so need it unlocked!

    Anyone got any ideas? I can't find anywhere online that can do it, is it possible via code?
     
  8. SanPedro

    SanPedro
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2001
    Messages:
    4,537
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +521
    I Googled "Nokia 5800 unlock" and brought up a load of sites.

    First one I checked wanted $29 for an unlock code.

    My local independent mobile shop does unlocks from £10 upwards. My 6500 which i'm being handing down to my daughter is £15 to unlock
     
  9. TheFatBoy

    TheFatBoy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    Messages:
    123
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Telford
    Ratings:
    +1
    I Googled it too, I was hoping for a response from someone that has done it. I've tried two online places - one sent me a load of generic tips (and then gave me a refund), one sent me a code that didn't work (and then gave me a refund)! Several places say they have unlock codes for the 5800 on T-Mobile or on Vodafone, but I haven't found one that can unlock one on Orange.

    I'll have a look for a local mobile place, thanks. :)
     
  10. SanPedro

    SanPedro
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2001
    Messages:
    4,537
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +521
    i did wonder whether any of these online sites would be any good :rolleyes:

    I'd rather go local with stuff like this as it's easy enough to know whether it's worked as soon as you pick it up. :)
     
  11. TheFatBoy

    TheFatBoy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    Messages:
    123
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Telford
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've had success online in the past unlocking several other Nokias (including N95 8GBs) and an HTC Touch Diamond. Hitting a blank with the 5800 though. Haven't found a local place yet either, but there must be one.
     
  12. RobM

    RobM
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    13,227
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,168
    Phone Orange and tell them you're (or whoever the contract is in the name of) going abroad for work and need to be able to use a foreign SIM in the Nokia while you're away. They should be able to provide an unlocking code for you no trouble at all :)

    A friend did this for me with Orange when I had his 8800 Arte off of him :)
     
  13. TheFatBoy

    TheFatBoy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    Messages:
    123
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Telford
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks for the tip - I'll give them a bell tomorrow :)
     
  14. RobM

    RobM
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    13,227
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,168
    Sometimes they can be a little reluctant to give you the code, probably expecting you to be doing exactly as you are, but if you persist you'll be OK :)

    Good luck! :)
     
  15. bendanuk

    bendanuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    685
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Huddersfield
    Ratings:
    +136
    Just to let anyone who's interested - I have just bought this from dialaphone on 02 PAYG for £185. It came today and was unlocked straight out of the box - my t-mobile PAYG sim is working great!
    An excellent phone by the way :thumbsup:
     
  16. bendanuk

    bendanuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    685
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Huddersfield
    Ratings:
    +136
    Hi,

    I've just got this phone and want to convert some videos using the super application - can you advise on the best settings?

    cheers

    bendanuk
     
  17. Dazza1980

    Dazza1980
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    101
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +10
    Hi Bendanuk

    Try these:

    Output File: mp4
    Output Video Codec: mpeg-4
    Output Audio Codec: AAC LC

    Video General Options: Both unchecked
    Video Scale Size: 640×360
    Video Aspect: 16:9
    Video Frame/Sec: 25
    Video Bitrate: Anything between 832 - 1024
    Video Other Options: “High Quality” and “48k Audio” are checked

    Audio General Options: Both unchecked
    Audio Sampling Frequency: 44100
    Audio Channels: 2
    Audio Bitrate: 128
    DVD Language Select: default
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2009
  18. Ian Carter

    Ian Carter
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2002
    Messages:
    763
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Swindon, Wilts
    Ratings:
    +3
    Just had mine deliverd from Phones 4 u, its on Orange.

    There doesn't seem to be a case for the phone and I'm sure I read somewhere that it came with a type of slip case in the package.

    Anyone clarify this?

    Thanks
     
  19. Iceman10

    Iceman10
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,000
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +105
    Only the first few that were made came with the case. I bought one in march and got one from p4u.
     
  20. bendanuk

    bendanuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    685
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Huddersfield
    Ratings:
    +136
  21. SanPedro

    SanPedro
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2001
    Messages:
    4,537
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +521
    Can somebody help here?

    My phone has just started making beeping noises when I make or receive a call.

    Is it something I've set inadvertantly or is the phone goosed?
     
  22. xtra_time

    xtra_time
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Burnley
    Ratings:
    +17
    Mine does that too. It says something about active divert on. Not sure what that is though
     
  23. SanPedro

    SanPedro
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2001
    Messages:
    4,537
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +521
    I did a quick Google late last night and somebody else had had the same issue. Switching the phone on and off cured the 'problem'.... which has proved the case with mine.

    The only niggling thing now is that when somebody calls I can't answer the call with the touchscreen. I have to answer with the green button bottom left.

    Do I have to unlock the phone 1st before I can use the touchscreen?
     
  24. 1ntense

    1ntense
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    292
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +8
    Just got one of these phones, couple of quick questions..

    Is the BBC iplayer free to use? If so how?

    How easy is it to put movies on it? Also whats the sky app Ive seen mentioned?


    Cheers

    Danny
     
  25. xtra_time

    xtra_time
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Burnley
    Ratings:
    +17
    Looks like all it means is that you have voicemail on - so if someone rang you when on a call it would divert to voicemail.
     
  26. Ian Carter

    Ian Carter
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2002
    Messages:
    763
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Swindon, Wilts
    Ratings:
    +3
    Finding my way around the new handset and its really good.

    I have a question though, I have added my wife to the contacts shortcut on the homescreen, but I cant seem to manage which of her numbers it dials to.

    I have her saved under one contact in the phonebook, with a home, mobile and work number. When I select the shortcut it does not give me the choice of which number to dial.

    Any Ideas?

    The only way I have got round this so far is to have 3 seperate entries in my phone book.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  27. Iceman10

    Iceman10
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,000
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +105
    I used to have a 5800 and I know it has no shortcut contacts on homescreen. But i'm due to receive an n97 on Friday and I know it has that feature. If i'm right your in the wrong thread, you might get more help in the n97 thread.

    Unless you just mean her name in the phonebook. You can only change the default call option but if you click into her name you can choose which of her numbers to call.
     
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2009
  28. jjm1971

    jjm1971
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Has anyone been able to update flash lite to 3.1? I checked for an update using 'App Update' but it says that all apps are up to date. Current version is 3.01

    I'm on Vodafone.

    Cheers
     
  29. Ian Carter

    Ian Carter
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2002
    Messages:
    763
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Swindon, Wilts
    Ratings:
    +3
    Definately have a contacts shortcut on the home page - Anyone got around this?

    Also I have 2 more questions, if someone has the time.

    1 - When I use maps am I charged from Orange? I don't really understand the whole GPS thing that well, and I don't have data incuded in my tarriff.

    2 - The majority of the music on my PC is in Itunes. Can I transfer it directly using drag and drop or do I need to convert it to something else first?

    Agian, thanks in advance.
     
  30. SHATNERSTACTIC

    SHATNERSTACTIC
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,412
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +590

    Yeah I did yesterday, vodafone also, nothing to write home about imo.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice