1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

noisy amps

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by bunyboy, May 10, 2005.

1. bunyboy

bunyboy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +11
    so im just getting into this seperates thing and have been looking at the pioneer slimline amp/receivers (old stock of the vsx-c100 or the 301 or 402) as a first step to go with the yamaha nsp100 speakers im gonna get....

im worried about them being noisy as ive heard mention of a contstant fan issue? anyone know of this problem? would getting a full size amp/receiver mean there was no fan issue? and are there a top three full size ones i should be looking at in this sort of price range?

sorry, probably the kind of questions that are posted all the time..
    thanks for help

2. Jai

Jai

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello,

I have the VSX-C402 amp. I can confirm that the fan is always on, and you can hear the slight hum of the fan when your watching a movie with a quiet scene. But i don't find it intrusive.

3. bunyboy

bunyboy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +11
    ok - thanks.
    can you give me any tips on how to get the best out of the 402? best settings? etc etc how are you finding it? are you happy with it?

thanks

4. Jai

Jai

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Let me first say I’m not a expert on these things as this is my first amp(£180) which is connected to the ELAC cinema 1 Mk2 speakers (£200)

The sound from the speakers is fine(better than my TV or my PC creative speakers), but friends have said that the subwoofer is not loud enough. Not sure if the AMP is not powerful enough to get the best sound from the Sub or it’s just a limitation of Sub. Maybe someone with the same speakers can comment?