Noisey Sky+ box worries?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by A_Venables, Jan 3, 2012.

  1. A_Venables

    A_Venables
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    362
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    In the last few weeks my sky+ box has gone from whisper quiet to very noticable with it whiring away in the back ground, even the misses has commented on it, so I know its not just me! Should I be worried its just about to pack up? Can they just run noisey? Should I be looking for a replacement? If so, whats the best cheapest way to get the new 1tb box without taking out skys hd subscription? I know most want hd from the box, but my tv does a good job with standard def, I cant warrent the extra £10.25 per month at the moment. I just want the 1tb box for cosmetics and extra hdd space. Any comments welcome!:lease:
     
  2. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,973
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,718
    Clearly it's long past the time when you should have had a replacement!
    The first thing to do is ask Sky what, if anything, they'll charge you for the 1.5TB or 500gB PVRs.
    They're the only machines that are current now.
    You'll be wanting a HD TV sooner or later, and the free HD channels are worth having then.
     
  3. MartinPickering

    MartinPickering
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4,954
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Greek Island
    Ratings:
    +507
    Clean the fan(s). What's the Digibox make and model number?
     
  4. A_Venables

    A_Venables
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    362
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    Thanks for the advice, think I will get on to sky soon and politely ask for an upgrade replacement box. Its an Amstrad sky+ box, not sure on the model number as I would have to dismantle bits to get to the back of it. Its about 4 and a half years old, but was a manufacturers refurb when we got it (from sky when we first took out the subscription). If im going to get a new box, I might aswell get the most upto date one, so the 1.5tb it is.
     
  5. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,973
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,718
    Yes, you could have had that replacement long ago.
    Read up the thread on the subject to see the best way of going about asking for it.
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2012
  6. A_Venables

    A_Venables
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    362
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    Will do, thanks for your help!
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice