1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Noddy Plasma q's?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Dak, Sep 30, 2002.

1. Dak

Dak
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    ? OK so I am new to all this Plasma talk but have decided (after reading reviews and looking at a few makes) that the Panasonic 42 inch is the one for me.

I have Telewest Cable being installed next week, already have DVD, Video, Playstation2, X-Box, Yam DSPE800 processor and Linn main amp and Tivo on Order.

So if I go out and buy a 42 inch Panasonic (I will look at latest version v last version and decide for myself) what else do I need I ask myself. Questions are:

1 I am mounting it 5 foot above the (gas) fireplace. Is this going to be a problem?

2 Will I be able to run inputs from all the above? Will I have to run cables for each source, up to the screen? Can I avoid doing this?

3 Do I need a tuner at all if I have Cable?

4 Can I get a wall bracket that tilts the screen down a bit?

5 Finally, can anyone recommend a decent dealer in London? I have compared prices and products on Tottenham Ct Road but would rather buy from someone reputable.
    Thanks
    Dak

2. jont

jont

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +410
    Ok - here goes with most of your q's ...

1 - you can mount above fireplace, preferably one with a deepish mantlepiece to deflect the heat ... but I would check with a candle to see how soft it gets in a similar position ...

2 - there are a limited number of connectors so you might need to think about what you can/need to daisy-chain and what is important for 'best' picture quality ... the series 4 42" (charcoal) has an rgb/component input, an rgb/vga input, a composite and s-video ... but you can't use all 4 at the same time...