1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

No tuner. Connection solutions

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by kerraig, Jan 6, 2003.

  1. kerraig

    kerraig
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    First of all, thanks for saving me about £200 by advising me that I don't need to buy a tuner with my soon to be purchased Panny 42". However, being a complete duffer with electronics I'm not too sure about the alternatives. So, if you wouldn't mind being of some help.

    Here's what I need to connect up:

    Xbox (RGB scart)
    US Gamecube (composite scart i think)
    DVD player (S-video)
    Video (composite scart)
    Sky Digital

    So, whats the solution? and how easy is it to implement?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    xbox to rgb>vga imput (js box)
    dvd >sky>component(js box)
    gamecube> argos scart box>scart to composite
    vcr>argos scart box>scart to composite
    argos 3 scart box i think is about £15.00

    i am proberly totally wrong but some of the others will correct me
    hope this helps

    the s-video and composite cant be used at the same time ie one or the other
     
  3. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    You haven't saved any money unfortunately! :) But the good news is without the tuner you will get a better picture:

    VCR has to goto the composite port. You don't really have much of a choice here, and if you use the composite port, your screwed for s-video.

    That leaves the VGA and RGB ports free.

    I went for a slightly different setup because all my consoles are US consoles with component video out, but if I had PAL this is what I'd do, assuming that your DVD will do RGB SCART also.

    I've done this with cost saving in mind, there are alternatives:

    Send Groundy on this forum a private message and he can make you a Gamecube USA RGB SCART cable [yes it can be done and is well worth it]. look on the hardware gaming forum. A few others make them also over on www.ntsc-uk.com. Both Groundy and Saurian are top blokes.


    VCR -> Composite

    DVD looped though Sky box.

    Sky/GCN/XBOX all using RGB cables -> Argos Scart Box -> JS RGB to Component Video Box -> Component sockets on plasma.

    You get JS boxes from JS at http://www.rgbtosvideo.com/
    John who designs/makes and sells them is a top bloke who makes an outstanding product.

    You still have a free VGA port if you need it.

    JVC also make a scart box thats RGB compat also, I picked one up from Dicksons.

    Regards,
    Neil.
     
  4. kerraig

    kerraig
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'll have to check if the DVD does RGB scart, but surely it will do. It's a midrange sony.

    My Gamecube is US and I know Groundy from the edge forum so i'll get on to him about the RGB scart. Thanks for the advice, but my head hurts horribly now.

    If I chose the Pioneer plasma does that mean I could use component and s-video at the same time?
     
  5. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    I think all Sony players support RGB.

    I think you mean composite rather than component! The Panny 5 stupidly only lets you use one or the other with the RCA board, if you have something plugged into the svideo port, the composite port is not usable, its a really bad cutting of corners and it really caught me by surprise.

    Not sure about the Pio. I spent too much time looking at the picture and not enough time looking at the total cost of hooking it all up.

    Neil.
     
  6. kerraig

    kerraig
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thats right, I mean composite. Although to be honest, I hardly use my video at all anymore so i'm thinking I could ditch it. Might make things a bit easier for me. Although the GC scart is composite as well i believe.

    Bloody hell this is hard work.
     
  7. Dekim

    Dekim
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Been reading these forums for a while (but not posted due to lack of knowledge - although ive learnt so much here)

    Anyway heres my quick question. With quality DVD picture being top priority for me. Does passing the DVD through the sky box degrade the quality at all?

    Cheers

    Deks
     
  8. kerraig

    kerraig
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers for all the advice Neil. Just one more question, you've chosen a JS RGB to composite. Whats the difference (in picture quality) to the RGB to VGA? Or is it just a cost issue?

    Actually, and another, does the argos scart box effect the PQ of the various inputs?

    Basically, if i'm forking out this much dosh I want the best PQ I can get.

    Sorry i'm such a pain.
     
  9. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    On my NTL box it doesn't but make sure you use decent cables. Direct connections are always going to be better.

    Neil.
     
  10. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    I chose RGB to Component! Please becareful of your component and composites! One is good, component, one sucks, composite :D

    In my system at home I don't use the component convertor, mainly because I have component devices to connect directly. You could use the VGA, I do use JS's RGB2PlasmaVGA and the quality is fantastic also. That would leave your component inputs free for a progressive scan DVD player, or for your gamecube with +component+ and progressive scan.

    I'll tell you my setup then here:

    NTL cable box -> VCR [for recording]

    VCR -> Composite video port [for playing]

    NTL cablebox -> RGB2PlasmaVGA -> VGA socket

    DVD player/Xbox-US/Gamecube-US/PS-2 -> AudioAuthority Auto Component Switcher -> Component socket on Plasma

    This setup above in my view gives the best picture setup on the Plasma, [unless your video supports S-Video]

    You get high quality RGB with the TV pictures.
    You are able to record video and playback
    You get outstanding quality progressive scan pictures from your DVD player and your consoles.

    Downside is that it cost me about 450quid in extra bits to do it, but I'd already factored 10% of the cost of the plasma to hook it up. You don't spend 4K on a screen and use £2.50 cables to hook it up.

    My prize purchase has to the the AA auto component switcher, it was a gamble but it works perfectly, it auto switches based on priority and signal so its hidden behind my AV unit [also switches audio, RCA, Coax and Optical if you need it].

    http://www.audioauthority.com/aacconsumers/1154c.html

    GC component cables you can get from Tokuda on
    http://www.ntsc-uk.com/ PM him on the forums for £24 inc shipping.
    PS-2 component cables you can get from www.playstation.co.uk in the shop.
    Xbox component cables you can either get from Game [Gamester Hi Def pack] or the MS one from www.dvdboxoffice.com
    I use QED SQUART SCART cables and IXOS component and composite cables. [QED cables really feel expensive :) ].

    For a good progressive scan DVD player check out the current raves on the DVD player forum about some box that RicherSounds is flogging for £200. I've got an old Sony player that I'm going to upgrade to the DVP-ES-999 model.

    Regards,
    Neil.
     
  11. kerraig

    kerraig
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for taking the time with this neil, you've been a big help.

    I don't really record stuff off the telly though so i'm thinking of ditching the video. This'll save a lot of fuss about the composite and s-video not being used at the same time.

    I do mean composite don't I ;)
     
  12. kerraig

    kerraig
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    So i'm thinking:

    Xbox/SkyBox/Gamecube into argos scart box, Into VGA box, Into telly.

    DVD player (prog scan) component straight into back of plasma (I'll buy a prog scan DVD player if I have a prog scan telly)

    Video, either in the composite port on argos scart box or in the bin ;)

    What am I doing wrong?

    God damn I can't get the comps the right way round at all.
     
  13. WSH

    WSH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2002
    Messages:
    997
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +39
    It seems a bit mad to buy a £450 tuner when a video has a tuner in. Analogue TV can be watched through the video surely!
     
  14. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    :D :D :D

    Looks fine, Video won't work eith the VGA convertor though so it would have to goto composite.

    Regards,
    Neil.
     
  15. kerraig

    kerraig
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    YESSSSSS!!!!!

    I can live without the video to be honest as I hardly ever use it. I'll have it in composite and use it from time to time.

    So all I need is the VGA box, an argos scart thingamajiggy and a GameCube RGB lead. So I will be saving myself a few bob after all!

    Thanks guys.

    I trust running the Sky/Xbox into the argos box then a VGA box won't hurt the picture quality TOO much?
     
  16. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    As long as you get JS VGA box it will be perfect.

    Neil.
     
  17. kerraig

    kerraig
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Neil, you are my hero.
     
  18. saggio

    saggio
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +1
    Neil, your setup seems optimal, but having

    NTL cablebox -> RGB2PlasmaVGA -> VGA socket

    (with or without the Argos SART box)

    do you get auto-switching of aspect ratio (4:3 16:9) on your cable channels?

    I have read somewhere on the forum that auto-switching only occurs if you use the Component lint to the Plasma.....but I may be wrong.

    Thanks
     
  19. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    No, and I don't want it. Its damn annoying, and few programs are in 4:3 these days. I did recommend the component first but this is just slightly cheaper and how I set it up because I have component devices.

    Regards,
    Neil.
     
  20. Phandaal

    Phandaal
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    274
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +7
    Does anyone have any diagrams of how to connect up all this equipment as I am only used to working with flatpack instructions from IKEA
     
  21. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    what excactly do you need to connect up ?
    if mine is simular i will email you some pics?
    i have ntl >jsbox> vga>plasma
    dvd>componenent>plasma

    i dont use composite /s-video at the moment
     
  22. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    Watch this space. I'm working on such a diagram and I'll post it up when complete.
     
  23. cadmeister

    cadmeister
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Milton Keynes, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Neil,

    Did you get that stuff I PM'd you - would be good to put that up as the ultimate guide for connectivity.
     
  24. nicropolis

    nicropolis
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi. I am the proud new owner of a Panny Plasma 42" Model 5.
    When I was in Paris recently I bought a RealCables Scart to VGA cable. But when I hooked it up to my Sony RGB Scart output and the VGA input on the monitor, all I got was "No Signal".
    Any ideas anyone?:confused:
     
  25. nicropolis

    nicropolis
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    :( Whoops, sorry. I should have said, from my Sony DVD Player...
     
  26. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    24,249
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,570
    nicroplois

    Assuming the SCART to VGA cable is converting the RGB+Composite out from your Sony DVD to RGBHV then you will have to ensure that you:

    A. Set your Sony DVD to be outputting RGB - you will need to do this with it attached to a normal telly (or the plasma on its Composite input) so that you can see the on screen menus produced by the DVD player. And then attach the DVD to the Plasma VGA socket.

    B. You have the Plasma VGA socket set to input RGB with sync on H&V.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  27. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    Yup I'll work on it this week and let you have a look.

    Neil.
     
  28. nicropolis

    nicropolis
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Joe,
    Thank you for that input. The first bit I have already done - I'll try the sync setting. It would be nice to get it working, the cable cost a fortune!
    Nick
     
  29. V5-APS

    V5-APS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2001
    Messages:
    639
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +10
    What aspect ratios/auto switched modes are available using the component yuv inputs on the 42PW5 pls??
    I.E. Will it auto switch 4:3 to 16:9/just etc??
    Thanks
     
  30. symanski

    symanski
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +8
    If you go to the Techical section of my website you'll find the instructions for the units (www.rgbtosvideo.com). Might help, although this is an area that an update is planned.

    With NTL (and Telewest) you'll have to switch on RGB output. It's inside the TV guide where you'll find an options section. There you can change the SCART output from PAL to RGB - very important you do this before hooking up to the plasma!

    As for those with XBoxes in this thread, please please try 007 Nightfire - it really is superb.

    All the best,

    Dr John Sim.
     

Share This Page

Loading...