No sound

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by audiphile76, Jan 3, 2012.

  1. audiphile76

    audiphile76
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,565
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Espoo, Finland
    Ratings:
    +303
    Hello,

    I am looking for advise on the problem for my setup.

    Items connected: LG Hometheatre system, Panasonic Plasma PX80, Procaster digibox, PS3, Sony wireless headset.

    I get sound and picture when watching digibox via hometheatre system, but when i have a connection between TV and digibox directly via HDMI without LG hoemtheatre system, i only get picture but no sound(neither from TV nor when i connect Sony wireless headset). Why i am doing this is to be able to plug my sony wireless headset to TV to watch recordings from digibox at night since my LG does not have a audio out option. I have tried 2 different HDMI cables(new from same shop) and same result. When i watch TV alone without LG hometheatre, sound is normal.(So TV speakers are not broken)

    Could you give some hints why this might be happening and what i should do next to try to get this fixed? Any help appreciated.
     
  2. Broadz

    Broadz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,697
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,423
    Your digibox is presumably outputting a digital audio signal (DD) via HDMI - which your TV cannot interpret as it does not have a Dolby Digital (or DTS) decoder built into it. Set the digibox to output PCM stereo via HDMI and your TV will then be able to understand the audio signal it is receiving via HDMI.
     
  3. audiphile76

    audiphile76
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,565
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Espoo, Finland
    Ratings:
    +303
    Thank you Broadz. I will check the settings at home.

    Before getting my hometheatre system, sound came from TV via HDMI from digibox. It just stopped working now. I have not changed anything but no sound. Only difference is that i am using different HDMI port on TV.
     
  4. Broadz

    Broadz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,697
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,423
    Maybe each HDMI input on TV can be configured to tell it what audio to expect - and the second HDMI input you are using is expecting non-digital audio whereas the first was set to Auto.
     
  5. audiphile76

    audiphile76
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,565
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Espoo, Finland
    Ratings:
    +303
    Good point once again!
    Thanks for that. I will report my findings in the evening

    Cheers!
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice