1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

No sound when capturing DV

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by surefire, Apr 15, 2004.

1. surefire

surefire
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello all.

I'm rather new to video capture and have a question/problem.

I recently purchased a Canon MV700i digital camcorder. I just recieved a firewire card to pipe the DV into my computer. I want to capture at full DV avi uncompressed so that I can edit and encode to any format I want. The problem is when I use movie maker to capture DV avi (Movie maker is a temporary solution until I purchase something better) I get no sound. If I capture at a lower quality the sound is present when the video plays but of course the video quality is poor. I tried using my friends copy of Pinnacle studio 7 but for some reason it wont run on my PC. I tried using WinDV to capture but there is still no sound when the avi file is played.

Am I doing something stupid? Why Can't I capture sound as well as video when capturing in DV avi? I'm a little baffled.

2. wORKERaNT

wORKERaNT

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm in the same boat. Just purchased a new Firewire card and running on Windows 2000. My camera is a Sony TRV-240 and I'm using Pinnacle 9.3 for capturing and editing.

Video is coming in great. But no sound. I've also tried using the software that came with the card, the software that came with the camera (ImageMixer), and a secondary capture utility that came with Pinnacle. In all cases video, but no sound. I've read that in some cases, the sound doesn't play during the transfer to save memory. However, if I go back and play the .avi file directly through Windows Media Player, there is still no sound.