No Sound Help! - Yamaha RXA2A

Zursen

Hi Guys,

I have a simple issue that you might be able to help with. I can't get sound to work when watching anything on my LG C9 TV. I have a high quality HDMI cable going from ARC on my TV to the HDMI Out on the AVR. Yet I'm getting no sound at all. I have my Nvidia shield connected to the HDMI 2 and I get sound from that fine, but why not the TV? The reason I ask is because I can't do Dolby Vision content on my Nvidia Shield & Yamaha AVR which hopefully they will fix in a future firmware update. So I was told to plug the Nvidia Shield directly into the TV and then I can watch Dolby Vision content without issues that way. Well I tried it and I can't get sound to work this way!

I'm fairly new to all this and the Yamaha AVR seems quite problematic to me.

Any ideas?

dobrykamil

Did you enable Hdmi control (CEC)?

Zursen

Just in case it the TV side which I suspect it is, please watch LG's little video on how to get it working
Just watched that video now and it's all pretty basic stuff in the video. Cable connected via correct slots (ARC), HDMI turned on on both devices, ARC turned on via both devices etc. The correct input is chosen (TV aka HDMI 1/HDMI Out).

I'm sure it has to be something simple right? What else could I check?

ShanePJ

AVForums Sponsor
It's usually something very simple when these things don't work hence the video as its sometimes the most obvious things that we all over look. Have you tried swapping the HDMI cable just in case its being naughty

ShanePJ

AVForums Sponsor
Make sure you have follow all the steps on page 69, 124, 203, 209 and 250 in the manual. I feel you have done all of these, but its a double check for the simple things again as I mentioned, they're usually obvious ones which can sometimes get missed when looking to hard :)

Zursen