• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

No sound from surround system

Tboggie

Established Member
Afternoon All,

Newbie here and i need help:

Samsung - PS50C450 3 HDMI slots
Sony - DAVDZ330 5.1 HCinema 1 HDMI slot
Apple TV 160gb 1 HDMI slot
Ps3 1 HDMI slot

So i got a new home cinema yesterday and i found out there was no sound when the movie via AppleTV is showing on the screen. My current setup is:

HCinema to TV = HDMI
AppleTV to TV = HDMI
PS3 to TV = HDMI
Sky to TV = ScartLead
Sky to HCinema=Scartlead

Currently i can get sound through the Hcinema if i am watchin tv via SKY+ but when i switch to AppleTV i can only watch but no sound is coming through the Hcinema.

Any suggestions Pls?
P.S: All the 4 devices has a digital optical in/outs but i am not sure this is needed because i am already using the HDMI cable

davepuma

Distinguished Member
The reason you are not getting any audio from the TV tuner or PS3 is you have no audio link between them. The HDMI connection between the TV and h/c system is one way other than for any HDMI CEC functions e.g. Bravia Sync, Anynet, Viera Link etc.

The SCART connection between the sky+ box and home cinema system will only give you 2.0 stereo or a pseudo effect. If you want Dolby Digital, you will need an optical cable between the two.

As you have several optical sources, I suggest you buy a 3 way manual optical switch and some decent quality, short length optical cables. Try audiovisualonline for both. Avoid ebay stuff if you can.

Connect the optical output from each i.e. sky+ and the PS3 to the switch and run a further optical cable from the switch to the optical input on the h/c system, therefore 3 optical cables in total. I wouldn't bother connecting the TV up.