Question No Sound from atmos height channel

ryanwhincup

Novice Member
Reaction score
Any ideas anyone?

I've recently upgraded to the new denon avc x8500h, i'm currently running a 7.1 system and had an old pair of dipoles lying around doing nothing so i thought i could use them as atmos height channels while i save up for my next upgrade to 7.1.4. I've managed to modify them and got them on the ceiling, that's where the issues started.

After checking and double checking the wiring I thought that the speakers may be dead as i've not used them in a while, I hooked them up to the rear channels and they where playing sound with no issue, next I thought maybe the speaker cable i'd bought might be faulty, I wired up the ceiling speakers with the cable from the rear channel still no sound, the amp is less than two months old so i'd hope there would not be an issue with the channel itself.

I've never used an atmos system before so totally new to it, i know a dipole is not the best speaker selection but i thought something may be better than nothing and it gave the old speakers something to do rather than gathering dust, might be an obvious fix just stumped me, and help is much appreciated

Have you set up the amp assign options in the Denon? You need to change the settings and speaker configuration to match the new arrangement.

Thanks for the reply, yeah i've tried that also did a full factory reset and didn't get anywhere, i have managed to get them working tho but not on the height 1 channel instead i've assigned a pair of front height speakers and a rear height speakers but only hooking up the rears, no matter what i do i cannot get sound from either left or right height 1, not a fix but a short term solution until i can get to the bottom of the problem, think maybe i need to give the retailer a call.

** FIXED **