Question No sound from AOC monitor

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by 3ssej, Apr 20, 2017.

  1. 3ssej

    3ssej
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Canada
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello!
    I recently purchased an AOC I2476VWM monitor and I hooked it up to my laptop with a HDMI cable to use it as my display rather than my laptop screen, however, the sound isn't working. Can someone help me?
    Thanks,
    Jesse
     
  2. next010

    next010
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    10,728
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +2,097
    Sometimes Windows can get confused when you plug in a HDMI display as it expects something like a TV which would have speakers so that HDMI source is selected as the sound output.

    Go into sound control panel in windows and set the laptop speakers as default audio, that should do it I would think.
     
  3. EndlessWaves

    EndlessWaves
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,671
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +2,477
  4. 3ssej

    3ssej
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Canada
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you both so much. I managed to get the speakers on my laptop to output sound. It's funny though, my monitor has a volume button for some reason, yet it doesn't output sound. Thanks anyway!
     
  5. tich77

    tich77
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    464
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121
    Assuming the monitor has speaker(s) - the web page doesn't mention it does - you need to tell Windows to output audio over the HDMI connected device
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice