No sound for first second with Yamaha rx-v6a

luagh45

Novice Member
Reaction score
I have my computer Windows 10 using HDMI out with sound set to Dolby Atmos for Home Theater connected to my Yamaha rx-v6a which is connected to my TV (which does have eARC if I need to switch to that?). Anytime sound is not actively being played my receiver displays "decoder off" and when I start to play sound/video it then takes 1-2 seconds before the audio begins at which point it reads "PCM" and not "Dolby Atmos". But it appears to be playing sound out of each channel properly, so my main concern is simply why all sound takes so long to begin playback, and why I can't have the decoder constantly running. This is most frustrating with video clips that are only 3-4 seconds long because the first 1-2 seconds constantly remain silent. Please excuse me if I have missed any details or used poor terminology, I am fairly new to the AV world.

It could be your hdmi cable. Even mine that are "certified" have a pause. This is fixed by using the latest hdmi cable.

Upvote 0
A Windows PC would have to use Dolby MAT to facilitate the conveyance of Atmos metadata this means that it would be normal to have such metadata output from a PC in conjunction with multichannel PCM.

The AV receiver should still indicate that it is receiving Atmos and processing it even if in conjunction with multichannel PCM. If you are positive that you've an actual speaker setup conducive with what would be required to portray Atmos and that you are sure that no other DSP Programs or SURROUND DECODER modes are engaged then I'd have to suggest that either your PC isn't in fact outputting the Atmos metadata or that your TV isn't correctly configured to pass this through?