no sockets on sky box!?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Sly, Dec 13, 2002.

  1. Sly

    Sly
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,463
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    west mids,England.
    Ratings:
    +48
    i have just brought a sanyo z1 pj:D have come to plug my sky in and found it only has rf and scarts out:mad: what lead goes from a rgb scart to either a component , s-video or composite signal?any help would keep the the world safe from my bad language!
    thanx.
     
  2. Alsproject

    Alsproject
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    The only thing that I've seen that can change scart to component so far is a SCART RGB TO COMPONENT (Y-U-V) CONVERTER from www.lektropacks.co.uk

    Just do a search for CSY2100. This does cost £75 though.

    Or, you can get the HCSL5 which is a scart to composite cable and is available in various lengths.

    Otherwise look at the Cable Adaptors section as they have various scart blocks.

    Its not worth buying a scart to s-video lead unless you know that your digibox can output s-video because the leads are more expensive and the picture quality will not be any better than through a scart to composite cable (that is if your projector can accept normal composite signals through the s-video).

    I hope this helps.


    Alan
     
  3. Sly

    Sly
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,463
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    west mids,England.
    Ratings:
    +48
    thanks for the info Alsproject but the cheaper lead looks like it would'nt work as it does not change the signal and the more expensive one would involve swaping my component lead over from dvd to my sky!:mad:
    also have just noticed when setting up my kit i can no longer watch videos either as that only has scart/rf out too.....
    any ideas?
    thanx.
     
  4. AV Junky

    AV Junky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +68
    You could use this
    http://www.lektropacks.co.uk/product/technical.asp?dept_id=103&sku=592
    to convert the RGB scart signal from the Sky box into a VGA type signal (RGBHV) that could be fed into the PJs VGA port. Would leave the PJs component connections free for your DVD player.

    Alternatively, would need to to use an RGB scart to component converter for the SKY box, then use a component switch box to switch between DVD & Sky signals.

    The VCR signal would need to be Composite video, since that what VHS VCRs output. Use a scart converter for this.
     
  5. Sly

    Sly
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,463
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    west mids,England.
    Ratings:
    +48
    cant get your link to work can you give me the model no.?
     
  6. Mr Cheese

    Mr Cheese
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    411
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Down South
    Ratings:
    +19
    I don't know if this helps - I don't have a projector, but over on the home cinema newsgroups they rave about
    www.rgbtosvideo.com
    for all pj connection needs

    Cliff
     
  7. AV Junky

    AV Junky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +68
    Sorry about the link trouble - didn't work when I just tried it also.
    Here's another link

    The order code is CSR2200 if you still have trouble.
     
  8. AV Junky

    AV Junky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +68
    Going back to the VCR, there are loads of scart to 3 phono adapters out there of course (Composite video + L & R audio), but if you still want to use the scart to connect to your TV at the same time, then could use one of these:
    Maplin JPEG link
    Code for this is WN53H.
     
  9. Sly

    Sly
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,463
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    west mids,England.
    Ratings:
    +48
    that seems a bit keener price @ 45 quid as i dont want to spend a fortune after forking out for the sanyo!you dont know what the quality is like do you?also do maplin do them as there is one up the road in erdington?
    ta.
     
  10. AV Junky

    AV Junky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +68
    Sorry can't speak for the quality. There is a thread asking this same question at the moment. There are also several other makes of adapter that do a similar job. Keene do one (SynchBlaster) which some people are using. The JS Labs model is also quite popular on these forums.

    Just searched on Maplin - can't find one listed. I have used Lektropacks before, and there service was very prompt (if that's any use).
     
  11. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    All the RGB-VGA leads/converters require your PJ to handle a horizontal synch frequency of 15.625khz. Results are terriffic for me, mine can, but check your manual carefully. A few guys have that PJ here, if you can't find it in the book smurfin might know?
     
  12. Sly

    Sly
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,463
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    west mids,England.
    Ratings:
    +48
    z1 can, it says in the manual!
    which one do you have by the way,may order tomorrow for my xmas viewing!
    and new buffy/angel on soon too....
     
  13. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Mine's the Keene one, has occasional glitch, in that is sometimes offsets the pic to the left a bit, but turning off the STBon the remote and turning it straight back on cures this. Happens maybe once a week. Stunning picture though.
     
  14. Sly

    Sly
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,463
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    west mids,England.
    Ratings:
    +48
    !right then i have come to the conclusion that a vga system would be the best for me to use as i won't be using it for anything else.
    so the choices are as follows:
    js tech,
    box £120 + lead £32 + p+p £4
    lektropacks,
    box £45 + lead £?? + p+p £3
    keene,
    sync blaster 3m £74.99 + £2 p+p
    so which one do you think i should go for and why?
    come on guys lets get this sorted in time for my xmas + buffy viewing pleasure:D !

    p.s. a big thanks to all who have posted!
     
  15. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    I'm pleased with my synchblaster, but JS also have a good reputation, John himself is a regular contributor here, usually to be found in the plasma forum. I f I remember, he is 'symanski' You could email or PM him, he's very helpful and knowlegable. I'm sure you're making the right decision, it's making use of all the data your STB can supply.
     
  16. Sly

    Sly
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,463
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    west mids,England.
    Ratings:
    +48
    i have just got my sync blaster cable from keene (delivered from order to my door in less than 24 hours on their 2 day service!)and have connected it from my sky box to my sanyo z1 and have got no picture , any idea what i might be doing wrong?
    have tried with and without psu , i have checked that rgb is output from sky box and the manual gives my pj the ok for 15.625 thing........any thoughts before i phone them on monday?
    ta.
     
  17. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Tried using the power supply? I gather the power from scart isa not 100% reliable, so they give you one as well. Try with and without, does the PJ give a 'no signal' response, or just nothing?
     
  18. Sly

    Sly
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,463
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    west mids,England.
    Ratings:
    +48
    tried with and without the included psu seems to make no differance at all.when you select the vga input it does'nt do a thing , says no signal.
    any ideas anyone?
    :( :mad: :(
     
  19. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Sounds to me like it's not compatible with your projector, in spite of what the manual says. You haven't any nearby mates you can check your lead and digibox output with?

    Just another check, you do know that only the 'TV' scart socket gives RGB don't you? The 'VCR' socket doesn't need to, as they're only composite. That's usually the top one. It will certainly give 'no signal' with composite.
     

Share This Page

Loading...