1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

NO signal in the rain

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by peacemf, Aug 28, 2005.

  1. peacemf

    peacemf
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hey

    newbie :)

    ive had sky digital for ages!!!

    but, the problem is that the dish looses signals completely in the rain and on a cloudy day, is there anything that i can do to solve this?

    Also how long does it take for your reciever to start up and show a picture?
     
  2. JayCee

    JayCee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    19,786
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,882
    Sounds as though you have a very poor signal due to poor dish alignment, a faulty lnb/downlead or combination of all 3. You need to call in an aerial rigger.

    If switched on from standby (which is the way it's designed to be used)...instantaneous.
    If switched off at mains supply and the switched on.......a couple of minutes.
     
  3. nicke20

    nicke20
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +13
    what is your signal strength graph showing ?
     
  4. peacemf

    peacemf
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hey
    thanks for replying...
    signal strength is never above 50%
     
  5. nicke20

    nicke20
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +13
    if your dish is easy to get at, you can get very good results with a friends help just nudging the dish around, ie up down and left right on the mount keeping an eye on the two bar charts. Ive never used a "rigger" yet, why pay someone to point a dish ?
     
  6. dts borg

    dts borg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Messages:
    577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hornchurch
    Ratings:
    +8
    I went up and looked at my dish when I was having this problem. Cabel had gone rusty in the LNB :eek: Cut cabel and used 3rd LNB feed.... ;)
     
  7. nicke20

    nicke20
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +13
    there you go, another possible problem from the "that will be £80 please school of dish fixers" go on try diy
     
  8. Steve999

    Steve999
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    35
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Lincolnshire UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wrap the 'f'pug connection in self-amalgamating tape to prevent rusting and water access.

    Steve
     
  9. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    ........ then wrap the self-amalgamating tape in PVC tape because s-a tape goes brittle under direct sunlight :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...