No signal Ch4/ITV

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by Jedmo, Feb 24, 2013.

  1. Jedmo

    Jedmo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a Samsung LE40M87 that used to have flawless reception. I am now finding that I have no signal for ITV or Channel 4. I've tried re tuning the TV with no success. The upstairs TV has no problems with reception. They both run off the same aerial. Has anyone any suggestions to what would solve this problem?

    Thanks
     
  2. 961

    961
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,675
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Berwickshire
    Ratings:
    +667
    Can I suggest you disconnect the freeview aerial cable from the tv and then turn the tv off and disconnect from the mains for half an hour by pulling the plug from the wall socket

    Then plug the tv in to the mains and, without connecting the aerial cable, do a rescan. You'll obviously come up with no stations

    Then connect the aerial cable and rescan again

    Any joy?
     
  3. Jedmo

    Jedmo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, thanks for such a quick response! Did what you suggested and sadly no change....
     
  4. 961

    961
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,675
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Berwickshire
    Ratings:
    +667
    Is it possible to try upstairs tv on downstairs aerial or vice versa to check this is a fault with one cable or with one tv
     
  5. Watchcote

    Watchcote
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    195
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Shrewsbury
    Ratings:
    +7
    Try doing a manual tune for the different muxes. I had the same problem and an automatic search would not find ITV, Ch4 etc. but a manual one did!
     
  6. A1944

    A1944
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    782
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Crawley West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +107
    Though the two TVs are running off the same aerial, presumably the one upstairs has a shorter overall length of cable to the aerial compared with the one downstairs. If so, that would suggest that the signal is only just sufficient and by the time it gets downstairs the cable has attenuated it just enough to be unreliable.

    Do you know how the cables from the two TVs are joined to split the signal?
     
  7. 961

    961
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,675
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Berwickshire
    Ratings:
    +667
    A manual tune might help here

    Can you give your postcode or say which transmitter you use?

    Can you check to see if by any chance you have reception of ITV and C4 on your Samsung in the programme range 800-899?

    There are a number of ways of splitting the signal. Do you know if there is any amplification booster used with the aerial?
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2013
  8. Jedmo

    Jedmo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've tried a manual tune and that didn't work

    The downstairs TV reception became poor after we had run the existing cable under the floor boards and connected it to a box on the wall and then added another extension from the box to the TV so I guess the signal strength is affected by that?

    Getting my hands on a booster box tonight to 'try before i buy' to see if that helps?

    My post code is M251PN
     
  9. Tight Git

    Tight Git
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    6,331
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +597
    Shame you didn't include that vital piece of information in your first post! :facepalm:

    Double check all connections for "whiskers" from braiding to inner.
     
  10. 961

    961
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,675
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Berwickshire
    Ratings:
    +667
    Assuming your signal comes from Winter Hill there should be no problems with reception

    As Tight Git suggests there may be a problem with your new connections. Even one stray braid can destroy the signal. Turn off the power, re-make all the joints, and try again
     
  11. MartinPickering

    MartinPickering
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4,953
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Greek Island
    Ratings:
    +507
    What exactly is the "box on the wall"? Sounds like a prime candidate.
     
  12. 961

    961
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,675
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Berwickshire
    Ratings:
    +667
    Very Greek!

    Julie xx
     
  13. MartinPickering

    MartinPickering
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4,953
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Greek Island
    Ratings:
    +507
    No, the Greek for "prime candidate" is "protos eesopseefeeos". ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...