1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

no scart on av/rec ??

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by martin davies, Jan 2, 2003.

  1. martin davies

    martin davies
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi ,
    stage 2 on my mission for home cinema !!
    after buying a pioneer 656a dvd player, the next on my shopping list is a av/rec.

    ive looked at few denon and marantz models and none have scart connections ??

    there is probably a very good reason for this ?

    so i assume its not just a case of connecting my vcr/sky/dvd players to the amp and then one scart connection to the tv ??
    thus piggy backing the whole lot to the amp from one scart lead

    ignorance is bliss

    cheers
     
  2. daninthemix

    daninthemix
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Marantz 9200 has 2 x SCART I believe. It isn't commonplace tho.
     
  3. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    Connecting up the video sources through the amplifier is mainly for Americans as most of us don't bother.

    Wire the video sources directly to the TV and you "cut out the middleman" and reduce the risk of degrading the signal.

    Wire the video and sound seperately as follows :-

    Digibox - DVD Player - TV (using RGB Scart socket)
    Digibox VCR Scart - VCR - TV (second Scart)

    For sound there are 2 ways to connect.

    DVD player to amp by optical or digital connector
    Audio Outputs on Tv to Phono inputs on amp

    The above works for many TVs but I find the sound from the audio outputs on my TV to be particularly bad so I have individual phono connections from Digibox and VCR to the amp (plus the DVD digital connection) and no lead from tv to amp.

    Hope that this makes sense although it is nearly the end of day two without a smoke so it may not.
     
  4. Geezer

    Geezer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,813
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +25
    I agree with Ian, thats pretty much the way all my gear is connected and works very nicely.
     
  5. martin davies

    martin davies
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for this insight !

    the way you have stated the video setup , is what i have at the moment ( not having an amp yet !!!)

    so all i really need is an amp/rec with a digital connection for my dvd player and lots of phono connections for the vcr and digibox ??



    cheers
     
  6. IanW1977

    IanW1977
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Messages:
    4,543
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +487
    I Have 2 Scart Leads on My TV - One for DVD and the Other for Cable Digital.
    There are also Front AV Sockets and Rear Av Sockets but both are Inputs.

    How do I Connect an Amp to these ?

    Is it a case of Phono Leads From Cable Digi Box and Digital Cable From DVD ??
     

Share This Page

Loading...