no satellite signal being received on Sky+ but 2nd box is fine

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by alleycat, Jan 2, 2005.

1. alleycat

alleycat

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm a novice so bear with me.

I've been losing signal and the use of my Sky+ box over the last 4 days or so. My original Sky box (now in another room) continues to work, except for a brief period about 2 days ago.

I've tried the usual switch off/on, reset LNB, full system reset but the problem persists.

Anything else I could try before succumbing to the £65 call out fee?

2. FMC

FMC

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    Check in the service mode what your signal is like (Service ,4 ,6) it could be one of your coaxial cable is broke (like mine did) or the connector on the LNB or sky box could be loose.

3. alleycat

alleycat

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    FMC I check the signal strength whenever the problem occurs.

Sometimes there is no bar, sometimes Input 1 shows no bar & Input 2 shows levels between 50% & 75%, other times the bars go up and down like a fiddler's elbow !!

4. FMC

FMC

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    Does it say not locked on either signal?

It sounds like a loose connection to me ,the easiest one is to check the sky box.Then if you can check the LNB ,because if the other box is working then it has to be a loose connection.

5. alleycat

alleycat

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah when there isn't a signal it says not locked and the code is 0000 then when there is a signal it says locked and the code changes.

Sorry for basic replies but thanks for your help.

6. Starburst

Starburst

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +979
    As the standard digibox is working it may not be a bad idea to hook that up to each of the two LNB feeds in turn and see how the system works.