No picture when using RGB

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by chezzy1955, Jan 4, 2007.

  1. chezzy1955

    chezzy1955
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all, I have my combo Dvd/Vcr player connected to my Lcd television via a scart lead, problem is, if I have the tele set on RGB, I get sound but no picture, but when I have tele on AV1 I get sound and picture. Can anyone tell me why I am getting sound but no picture on RGB.
    thanks
     
  2. Mr Incredible

    Mr Incredible
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    23,893
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Fylde Coast
    Ratings:
    +13,535
    Your DVD/VDR combo may need its setup changed to output RGB rather than composite on the Scart.
     
  3. chezzy1955

    chezzy1955
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for your reply Malice, I've been through the menu settings for my Dvd/Vcr and cannot find anywhere to alter these settings. I know this is a long shot, but would you by any chance know if all Dvd/Vcr units have the option to change these settings. My Dvd/Vcr is an Hitachi
    Thanks
     
  4. Mr Incredible

    Mr Incredible
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    23,893
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Fylde Coast
    Ratings:
    +13,535
    What model Hitachi?
     
  5. Mr Incredible

    Mr Incredible
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    23,893
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Fylde Coast
    Ratings:
    +13,535
    Another thought, your Scart lead may not be RGB capable! I now remember having a similar issue when I first got a DVD player and used it with a "bog standard" Scart lead. I bought a fully wired version and all was fine.
     
  6. davepuma

    davepuma
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    17,536
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,506
    Try another SCART lead and also try reversing the SCART cable you already have.
     
  7. sdb123

    sdb123
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    18,181
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rushden, Northants
    Ratings:
    +2,252
    You could also try a different scart input on the TV.
     
  8. chezzy1955

    chezzy1955
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Malice, thanks for your input, my Dvd/vcr Model No is DV-PF4E(UK) Have tried another lead, same problem.
     
  9. chezzy1955

    chezzy1955
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Will try all other suggestions, let you know how I get on. Thanks.
     
  10. chezzy1955

    chezzy1955
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,just found this info about my player

    S-Video x 1, Analog Audio x 1, Digital Audio Coaxial x 1, RF x 1, Composite (via SCART), Audio (via SCART)

    Does this mean it does not output RGB

    Thanks.
     
  11. Indiana Jones

    Indiana Jones
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    37,038
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +9,750
    Im afraid it does, looks like the best you can get is S-Video.
     

Share This Page

Loading...