No. of scart (RGB) connection on the back of a Sky+ box?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Justhe1, Sep 9, 2004.

  1. Justhe1

    Justhe1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2003
    Messages:
    46
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Hatfield, Herts
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am due to have sky+ installed in the next few days, and currently have sky digital.

    I am just trying to figure out how to connect my PS2 to my plasma (without buying additional terminal boards) and wondered if the sky+ box had a spare scart (RGB) input that I could run my PS2 into via a PS2 to RGB scart (hopefully this could carry a component signal?)

    My (to be) sky+ box could then plug into my JS converter box to plasma.

    Just trying to see if I can do without the Quintro box and save a few pounds or not??

    failing that I could go directly from PS2 to the scart board in the plasma, just means a "messy" long lead running up to the screen.

    Any help much appreciated
    J
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    Sky+ will pass RGB when in standby, not sure while its recording but would hope so, connect PS2 to VCR scart on Sky or Sky+ box and use same scart on TV for both.
     
  3. Justhe1

    Justhe1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2003
    Messages:
    46
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Hatfield, Herts
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ah great, I wasn't sure if the VCR scart was output only, but I take it it switches then to receive the input from the PS2.

    Had it mentioned to me as an option by a friend/installer but was unsure it could be done.

    Will save me the Quintro Unit + 1 scart and/or running the PS2 directly to the screen...
     
  4. David PluggedIn

    David PluggedIn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    544
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +10
    Hi J

    thats correct, when the PS2 is powered it will override the RGB feed from the Sky box so you will get a switching effect.

    good luck
     
  5. Justhe1

    Justhe1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2003
    Messages:
    46
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Hatfield, Herts
    Ratings:
    +0
    Great, thats just saved me a Quintro + 1 scart cable, cheers guys :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice