No. of scart (RGB) connection on the back of a Sky+ box?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Justhe1, Sep 9, 2004.

  1. Justhe1

    Justhe1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Hatfield, Herts
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am due to have sky+ installed in the next few days, and currently have sky digital.

    I am just trying to figure out how to connect my PS2 to my plasma (without buying additional terminal boards) and wondered if the sky+ box had a spare scart (RGB) input that I could run my PS2 into via a PS2 to RGB scart (hopefully this could carry a component signal?)

    My (to be) sky+ box could then plug into my JS converter box to plasma.

    Just trying to see if I can do without the Quintro box and save a few pounds or not??

    failing that I could go directly from PS2 to the scart board in the plasma, just means a "messy" long lead running up to the screen.

    Any help much appreciated
    J
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,291
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,217
    Sky+ will pass RGB when in standby, not sure while its recording but would hope so, connect PS2 to VCR scart on Sky or Sky+ box and use same scart on TV for both.
     
  3. Justhe1

    Justhe1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Hatfield, Herts
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ah great, I wasn't sure if the VCR scart was output only, but I take it it switches then to receive the input from the PS2.

    Had it mentioned to me as an option by a friend/installer but was unsure it could be done.

    Will save me the Quintro Unit + 1 scart and/or running the PS2 directly to the screen...
     
  4. David PluggedIn

    David PluggedIn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    544
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +10
    Hi J

    thats correct, when the PS2 is powered it will override the RGB feed from the Sky box so you will get a switching effect.

    good luck
     
  5. Justhe1

    Justhe1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Hatfield, Herts
    Ratings:
    +0
    Great, thats just saved me a Quintro + 1 scart cable, cheers guys :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...