No Master Socket...

Discussion in 'Networking & NAS' started by Chrisoldinho, Feb 6, 2009.

1. Chrisoldinho

Chrisoldinho

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +267
    Yep, as you can tell i'm very much into sorting out my home network at the moment :D

My house doesn't seem to have a Master socket. I was going to attempt to put on an ADSL Nation faceplate to reduce the noise on the line and in theory increase the speed of my connection.

I took off the faceplate on my router but there is no wires behind plugged into the socket at all and also no test socket either....

I'm a newbie when it comes to this so any basic explaination appreciated :)

2. Tallpaul1987

Tallpaul1987
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not sure why you dont have one mate but as a BT employee I'd advise you to excersize caution as interfering with an NTE-5, which is the term we use for a master socket, is an offence which could lead to a fine.

I work for a different section of BT (Not Openreach) and I've only done a short secondment on the Openreach side so I'm not exactly a wizard at it my self but good luck.

Mean while here's some more info...

Guide to rewiring internal UK phone wiring

I think your best bet is to ring BT and get an engineer to fit either an I-plate or an NTE2000 as these are both specifically designed to filter ADSL cicuits. The newer I-plate model removes the noise from the bell wire which carries ringing current.

I hope I have been of some help.

Paul.

Last edited: Feb 6, 2009
  3. beerhunter

beerhunter

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +740
    Sorry, you may work for BT but is obvious that you don't work for Openreach. An NTE5 is a type of Master Socket. It appears that the OP has an old style Master Socket. (Without the NTE5's removable faceplate.)