no lnb upgrade!!!!

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by cj101, Mar 24, 2006.

  1. cj101

    cj101
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Messages:
    70
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    lowestoft
    Ratings:
    +2
    Just pre-ordered and rang sky to query whether an oct lnb will be provided as standard with the install, as I'm currently running 2 sky + boxes and wish to retain them. The answer...........a resounding NO!

    I don't know if this is simply ignorance on the part of the call centre staff, but the young lady I spoke to did check with her supervisor who suggested 'I would have to arrange such an upgrade with a contractor myself'
     
  2. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Sky don't support anything more than quad LNB's. You might be able to persuade the installer to fit an octo, but he will want cash for doing it, and Sky would not be interested in fixing it if it failed.
     
  3. wandersen

    wandersen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    521
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    Octo LNBs are being offered where necessary with the Sky HD subscription. The powerpoint presentation makes this clear.
     
  4. cj101

    cj101
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Messages:
    70
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    lowestoft
    Ratings:
    +2
    Nick

    Thanks. I thought based on the infamous 'leaked' sky powerpoint presentation installers would fit octo lnbs where the situation dictated.

    Ceri
     
  5. MKRich

    MKRich
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    185
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    This is interesting so, if for instance someone had Sky + and multiroom with 2 boxes located elsewhere in the house and then ordered SKY HD but wanted to move the sky + box elsewhere meaning they would need 5 connections to the dish, would they fit an octo lnb in that case? EDIT and would it be free do you think??
     
  6. cj101

    cj101
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Messages:
    70
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    lowestoft
    Ratings:
    +2
    Based on what sky told me this morning no to both questions. I suspect, hope and pray, this just represents a lack of knowledge on the part of the call centre staff. I mentioned the powerpoint presentation but they weren't aware of it.

    Ceri
     
  7. neilmcl

    neilmcl
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +292
    Are you planning on taking out a second multiroom subscription or just use one of your Sky+ boxes as a Freesat box. I suspect if you're not going to pay any extra to Sky, other than the Sky HD sub then it's not really in their interest to install a much more expensive Octo LNB.
     
  8. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    We don't even know if this was an official Sky presentation, or (if it was) whether it was ever shown to anybody. Since the call centre staff at Sky don't seem to have heard of octo LNB's they obviously didn't sit in :D
     
  9. wandersen

    wandersen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    521
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    I have Sky+ and two multirooms. Am hoping to move the Sky+ to a bedroom - so will need the Octo LNB.
     
  10. neilmcl

    neilmcl
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +292
    You can always buy and fit one yourself. Like I said earlier, unless Sky see any financial benefit in fitting an Octo LNB over and above what they're getting from you currently, then I'd very much doubt they want to install one for you.
     

Share This Page

Loading...