No layer changes on Philips players?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Wayne Moule, Aug 30, 2003.

  1. Wayne Moule

    Wayne Moule
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2000
    Messages:
    1,712
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +62
    I've just had a reply from Philips which says that all Philips DVD players show no layer change.

    Can anyone with a Philips DVD player confirm this please?
     
  2. Klippie

    Klippie
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    669
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +87
    Hi Wayne,

    I have a 963SA and its got a layer change but not that bad.

    If you need a seemless changing dvd player one with a buffer should sort this out.

    Klippie.
     
  3. gringottsdirect

    gringottsdirect
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,905
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    50 Rue St Georges, Paris.
    Ratings:
    +32
    Agree with Klippie.
    Definitely see layer changes with my 963 but no worse than other non-buffer players.
    I've never seen a layer change with my Denon DVD-3800. :)
     
  4. Wayne Moule

    Wayne Moule
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2000
    Messages:
    1,712
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +62
    I bought a Denon 700 which claimed to show no layer change,but it did in the 4 films I tried,so I took it back.

    I'm not prepared to spend £100's on a player with no layer change though.
     
  5. puddleduck

    puddleduck
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,822
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lake District, near as dammit
    Ratings:
    +58
    The Philips 963SA definately has a layer change, but its the fastest I've seen so far out of the three players I've owned (Samsung 709, Pioneer 737).

    I'd guess it was around 1/10 of a second, or about 2 frames of a film in length. For reference, the Pioneer 737 could take nearly 1 second on some disks..!
     
  6. graham r j

    graham r j
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Wayne,

    I've got a Philips DVD728 and,while it does show the layer change, it's that quick it's hardly noticable.(Only that the dolby led light flickers on my amp at the change, you would'nt know).
    As Puddleduck says, it's only a split second,and it's done.
    BTW I used to have a Pioneer DV626 player and it's layer change took about one and a half seconds on some disc's, so a 1/10 sec change seems fair enough to me.
     

Share This Page

Loading...