1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

No Firmware updates for Hitachi PJ TX100?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by mattsimis, Sep 17, 2005.

  1. mattsimis

    mattsimis
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Messages:
    105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +1
    I finally got my PJ TX100 in for repair with Hitachi repair agents in the UK. I asked if they could update the firmware when it was in, at first they asked me what a firmware was then told me Hitachi havent released an update in the entire lifespan of the product.. I would have thought at least one update would have been available..

    My firmware is dated June 2004.. anyone got one newer?


    Matt
     
  2. PJTX100

    PJTX100
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8,132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +563
    To my knowledge there have been no firmware releases for the TX100...PJ :)
     
  3. mattsimis

    mattsimis
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Messages:
    105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +1
    Whats so amusing about that!?



    Matt
     
  4. PJTX100

    PJTX100
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8,132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +563
    :confused:
     
  5. mattsimis

    mattsimis
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Messages:
    105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +1

    The smilie at the end of your first post.. you use so many you dont even notice?! :rolleyes:


    Matt
     
  6. PJTX100

    PJTX100
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8,132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +563
    My confusion was not relating to the use of the smilie, rather your ungratious reply when all I was trying to do was answer your query.

    If you are going to pull everyone up on overuse of smilies, you are going to be a busy person...PJ



    oops forgot :)
     
  7. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Amusing? Just answering your question as far as I could see :confused:.

    :smoke:


    Kramer likes his smilies too!
     
  8. mattsimis

    mattsimis
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Messages:
    105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +1
    Perhaps you didnt get it. "Amusing?" was referring to the laughing smilie at the end of his reply. Telling me there is no firmware then laughing was confusing, hence I asked what the joke was.

    Getting all touchy then putting smilies in a post is fairly counter-productive too.


    Matt
     
  9. PJTX100

    PJTX100
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8,132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +563
    I thought :rotfl: or perhaps :D was the laughing one. Lots of people like me use the :) just to keep it well natured I think. Obviously sometimes it doesn't work. ;) ...PJ
     
  10. Knyght_byte

    Knyght_byte
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    11,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Harrow, NW London
    Ratings:
    +599
    aye, when i saw the smilie i just take it to mean you've helped the guy answer his question so are smiling to say 'hello, happy to help answer your question'...regardless of whether the answer was good or bad news...its useful because its answered it....

    if however he was using the :rotfl: one then that WOULD be taking the pee...lol
     
  11. Maff et1

    Maff et1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Perhaps the TX100 hasn't needed any firmware updates? In which case it would be :) all round (or would that be :rotfl: )

    After all, if it didn't have one and needed it then surely it would have been :mad:

    I hate smileys, we should use frownies for when were being serious instead.
     
  12. Hippo04

    Hippo04
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are there any specific problems with the firmware? I haven't thought of any, maybe they got it right at the first try :smashin:
     
  13. PJTX100

    PJTX100
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8,132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +563
    :clap:
     
  14. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    Quite rarely, yes Hitachi did get it spot on first time!!! I have 50+ Hitachi TX100 customers (and not one Hitachi plasma client :D :rotfl: ). Three or four had LCD panel colouration issues which was a shame :thumbsdow , one or two a loud fan that was easily fixed :thumbsup: But not a penny wrong with the firmware, settings, signal types accepted etc :cool: . The Z3 on the other hand was a right mare at launch with HD resolutions in the HDMI and not working with 1:1 timings :eek: . The Sony HS50 the same :( , severe overscanning on HD into the HDMI port, no 1:1 timing at all :mad: . Mostly dealt with now :smashin: , but I know which projector I'm gonna be pushing when it's Z4 v TX200 time later this year!!! :clap:
     
  15. thepostman

    thepostman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Liam How did you repare the fan noise as mine sounds like a 737 landing and why does the fan noise pick up in even a slightly warm room but never go back to whisper when it has cooled down???

    Thx
     
  16. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    Just sent a PM! Basically it wasn't a loud fan, was a heatshield or something that was intermittently rubbing on the fan iirc. Had a couple that I'm sure were satisfactorily repaired. Was a while ago but in all likliehood one may have been a forum member so might chip in!
     
  17. PJTX100

    PJTX100
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8,132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +563
    Very insightful Liam. When you also consider the VB issues with the AE700 and the firmware mod needed for that, it puts into perspective that they actually didn't do that bad a job on the TX after all. I was beginning to think I'd just been plain lucky!

    Speaking of VB, has anyone ever returned one because of VB on the TX?...PJ :)
     
  18. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    There was that service menu adjustment that some had used for VB on the TX100. Helped many, but as far as I'm concerned it still suffered it whatever. Not as bad as other brands, but it's still there. Saying that though, I didn't get any back from it.
     
  19. PJTX100

    PJTX100
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8,132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +563
    Yes, that's what I expected. I see occasional VB on mine, but nowhere near enough to spoil the enjoyment. I did do the factory menu adjustments which helped. Though I need to watch the Oppo a bit more, my initial impression is that I see VB even less with the Oppo...PJ :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...