No DVI-D connection on Dell Ultrasharp U2412M

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by pixelpidgeon, Mar 1, 2013.

  1. pixelpidgeon

    pixelpidgeon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3,552
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,765
    Hi,

    Wondering if someone more knowledgable than myself might be able to help with a problem. Since this morning i am unable to connect to my Dell Ultrasharp U2412M via the usual dvi-d to hdmi connection. I believe this is because i swithched off the monitor the previous evening before putting the computer into s4 sleep mode. I have been using the following setup for a month now with no problems until now,

    Monitor (DVI-d) > DVI-HDMI converter > PC (hdmi)

    Now the only way i can get the pc to see the monitor (or the monitor to see pc) is through the lesser quality vga connection??

    I have seached online and used moninfo to craete o conf file but this doesnt solve the problem

    Any help greatly appreciated. thanks
     
  2. pixelpidgeon

    pixelpidgeon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3,552
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,765
    anyone have any experience with something like this?
    Im wondering if i might have to go into the bios and change something?
    Although i dont see why as i havent been in the bios prior to the dvi-d stopped working.....
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2013
  3. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,533
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,517
    Have you rebooted the PC since it stoped showing a display via DVI?

    Yeah I know it is a running joke, but you would be amazed at how often it solves this type of issue. During a power up the PC runs some self tests and detects all connected devices. So a reboot may just get the PC to detect the monitor again.

    If not try connecting another HDMI device to the monitors input to see if that gets displayed. If not then I'd say the input is where the fault lies.

    Mark.
     
  4. pixelpidgeon

    pixelpidgeon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3,552
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,765
    Hi. Thanks for your help. I have rebooted the pc a few times without any luck unfortunately...

    I will do what you suggest and connext the xbox to the monitor via hdmi > Dvi-d and see if that works.

    I am under the impression its windows 7 thats forgotten the edid of the monitor somehow? Ive been searching online last couple days for a solution without much luck so far...


     
  5. pixelpidgeon

    pixelpidgeon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3,552
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,765
    Xbox works fine. So monitor and cable ok. Gotta be windows??? :(
     
  6. spyder viewer

    spyder viewer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,846
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,285
    I've had problems with hdmi cables not going in far enough on the pc and not connecting properly. Even if it wasn't seeing the edid data, it would just select a generic driver but still work.
     
  7. pixelpidgeon

    pixelpidgeon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3,552
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,765
    Hi. I have thoroughly checked all connections and as the same cable setup works for xbox, i dont think its a cable issue. I suppose it could be the input in the pc. i am currently using only the onboard intel hd4000 graphics. i plan to purchase a graphics card in near future..

     
  8. pixelpidgeon

    pixelpidgeon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3,552
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,765
    still no joy tring to figure this out. just doesnt make much sense in this era of plug and play.. maybe i'll just have to make do with vga until i get the graphics card and use the displayport input..
     
  9. pixelpidgeon

    pixelpidgeon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3,552
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,765
    no one had a similar prob with any monitor before?

    *MODS* maybe if this thread could be moved to pc gaming or something?
     
  10. pixelpidgeon

    pixelpidgeon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3,552
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,765
    still got this problem. just purchased brand new hd 7950 and cannot connect to it. I am almost certain this is related to the dell monitor drivers not installing correctly. in other words I need to get dvi-d connection while using the onboard hd4000 graphics before turning off computer and re-installing new graphics card. changing necessary settings in bios and then I reckon the card will work.. this is driving me nuts! help me somebody :lease: :confused:
     
  11. pixelpidgeon

    pixelpidgeon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3,552
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,765
    good news. bought a mini-displayport to display port cable. removed all hdmi-dvi-d & vga cables. reinstalled 7950 card. installed displayport cable. bingo! bios window. removed onboard graphics selected pci. happy dayz :arty: now just need to see if there are any new drivers.. tyring to download c rysis 2 at the mo... want to play before I get crisis 3 code which came free with graphics card :)
     
  12. spyder viewer

    spyder viewer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,846
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,285
    Great news!
     
  13. Helgi

    Helgi
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had the exact same problem with my 2412M and posted my problem on the offical Dell support forum (no answer).
    DVI port on the monitor stopped after the PC had been turned off when I had to install a new sound card.
    Ended up getting a display port cable instead and it works again.
     
  14. pixelpidgeon

    pixelpidgeon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3,552
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,765
    I think it could be a design fault with this particular monitor. As it still happens to me with the display port connection. seems to be only when I turn the monitor off and at the plug while the pc is still switched on. This causes the display, when switched back on again, to revert to 600*640 (or whatever the lowest res is). The only way to resolve it is to switch the monitor off, remove plug at back of monitor for a couple minutes.

    Other than this the monitor is great, so I've not sent it back..


     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2013

Share This Page

Loading...