1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

No Dolby Surround on Sky+

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Timbo21, Sep 12, 2005.

  1. Timbo21

    Timbo21
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    4,470
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +263
    I was viewing a pay per view & it was meant to have Dolby Surround, i.e.
    DS was shown on film info. But my reciever only seemed to be getting stereo
    via optical. I've got Dolby D in my setup also.

    ??

    T.
     
  2. Neil69

    Neil69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2001
    Messages:
    306
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leigh
    Ratings:
    +14
    Hi, do you mean Dolby Digital 5.1, or regular Dolby Pro-Logic?
    There is no DD5.1 on SBO, just Pro-Logic. If there is a Pro-Logic signal being broadcast, your amp WILL decode that signal. The only full on DD5.1 broadcasts are from Sky Movies 1 through 3 & Disney & Disney +1. A Sky+ box will bitstream out to a suitable amp.
    Ta, Neil.
    :)
     
  3. gavan

    gavan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    3,984
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Rapture
    Ratings:
    +286
    What's supposed to happen with a digital link is that a flag is set on the bitstream to switch the amp to Dolby ProLogic (inidcated as 'DS' on the EPG) mode.

    With an analogue link, there's no way for the source material to indicate to the amp that it's surround encoded, so it's up the the user to make sure that DPL decoding is switched on.


    Gav
     
  4. Timbo21

    Timbo21
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    4,470
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +263
    I meant 5.1, so only on Sky Movies 1-3 then.

    Thanks, :)

    T.
     
  5. Neil69

    Neil69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2001
    Messages:
    306
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leigh
    Ratings:
    +14
    Hi Timbo! No probs mate.
    Ta, Neil
    :D
     
  6. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    ....... and some Disney Channel programmes :)
     
  7. Neil69

    Neil69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2001
    Messages:
    306
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leigh
    Ratings:
    +14
    Already told him that, mate!!!!!! :thumbsup:
     
  8. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Oooops ! So you did. Must read the thread properly next time :smashin:
     

Share This Page

Loading...