1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

No display on laptop

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by neilo, Nov 16, 2004.

  1. neilo

    neilo
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,564
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +21
    I was watching an avi file on my laptop when the file froze the pc
    I had to shut down the pc using on on/off button
    Now when ever i turn it on I can hear windows loading up but get no display
    Any one know if there is any thing i can do
    Its a Packard bell ipower 500
     
  2. .Griff.

    .Griff.
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    936
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Walsall
    Ratings:
    +74
    Make sure the display hasn't been set to external. Normally a symbol on one of the "F" keys.
     
  3. neilo

    neilo
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,564
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +21
    Will check that thanks
     
  4. neilo

    neilo
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,564
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +21
    got it to turn on and it imediatly froze :-(
     
  5. neilo

    neilo
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,564
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +21
    the laptop is on as I can get to it via a network but there is still no display on the screen ...anyone else ever had this prob and know how to fix ?
     
  6. Ian182

    Ian182
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    Messages:
    881
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Leeds, West Yorkshire.
    Ratings:
    +100
    Hi !

    No experience of that particular model, but..........
    It could be that your TFT screen has failed. Have you got an external monitor that you can hook the laptop up to ? Try that - you'll probably need to toggle between the external/laptop display options - as per one of the previous posts this is usually done with the Function button and one of the F keys.

    I fix laptops all day, and TFT screen failures are not uncommon :rolleyes:

    Ian.
     
  7. neilo

    neilo
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,564
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +21
    Hi Ian
    after the battery has run down ... i restart it and the screen will come on for about 5 seconds then crash
     
  8. cyberheater

    cyberheater
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,186
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +170
    Sounds like a configuration issue.

    Have you tried starting in WinXP Safe mode. F8 key on start up.
     
  9. neilo

    neilo
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,564
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +21
    will give that a go tonight ..cheers
     
  10. Ian182

    Ian182
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    Messages:
    881
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Leeds, West Yorkshire.
    Ratings:
    +100
    Could also be hardware related.

    A faulty Hard Disk or System Board could also cause the problems you are having.
    Another thing to try is booting from something other than the HDD - a floppy disk or CD to see if it boots OK that way.

    See if you can get hold of some diagnostic diskettes to check all the hardware - they should be available in a bootable form, and should clear up whether its hardware or software related.

    Good luck :thumbsup:

    Ian.
     
  11. Synchro

    Synchro
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    3,442
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Chester
    Ratings:
    +316
    Could be any number of things. I suggest taking it to a PC clinic.

    Get them to tell you what is wrong. Don't agree to getting the work done there and then. Bring it home and look into the problem, as descibed by them yourself. You can always then go back to the clinic and ask them to do it, if you have no success.
     

Share This Page

Loading...