1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

No digital out problem...

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Rob, Dec 20, 2001.

  1. Rob

    Rob
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2000
    Messages:
    1,279
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +33
    OK , finally got the picture looking great, only now I cant seem to get DD or DTS output from the souncard (sounblaster 5.1). I've tried everything I know, Digital out only in sounblaster settings, AC3 disabled (tried enabled, no difference) and power DVD output is set to 6 channel. When I run the speaker test, only front L/R are working. Lead is plugged into the SP/DIF out (yellow connector). Don't know what else to do :(

    Any help muchly apprecieated.

    Rob.
     
  2. Desmo

    Desmo
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2001
    Messages:
    13,423
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Braintree, Essex.
    Ratings:
    +4,769
    You wouldn't be running Win2k by any chance would you?

    If so, it's a known problem with Win2k and the SB Live. Install service pack 2 and it should cure the problem.
     
  3. Rob

    Rob
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2000
    Messages:
    1,279
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +33
    Desmo,

    I'm running Windows 98. Is it still worth installing service pack 2, does this apply to win 98?

    Thanks Rob.
     
  4. Desmo

    Desmo
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2001
    Messages:
    13,423
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Braintree, Essex.
    Ratings:
    +4,769
    No, the service packs don't apply to Win98.
    You said PowerDVD is set to 6 channel output. It should be selected as using SPDIF.

    Not sure what else to try after that.
     
  5. Ken

    Ken
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2000
    Messages:
    360
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Stoke-on-Trent
    Ratings:
    +1
    Rob,
    Have you selected 4 speakers, in the Sound Blaster speaker set up.
    Ken
     
  6. Rob.Screene

    Rob.Screene
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Berks, England
    Ratings:
    +45
    Rob,
    I don't know if your 5.1 has similar connectors the Soundblaster Live Player? I was surprised to find the yellow "digital output" is actually a stereo 3.5mm jack socket.

    I have taken a simple 3.5mm to twin phono stereo connection to two digital coax inputs on my amp (OK, so it's not 75ohm and shielded, but it works ok for me for now).

    Through the one connector (left?) I get PC digital sound (windows sounds and MP3 from WinAmp), plus pass-thru Dolby Digital and DTS streams from WinDVD 3.

    Through the other I do not get any PC sound, but still get the WinDVD pass-thru.

    As these are two different digital signals in this one 3.5mm jack socket, I suspect using a mono 3.5mm jack plug will short them together and the digital signal will be lost. Perhaps that is the problem with your 5.1?

    cheers,
    Rob.
     
  7. Desmo

    Desmo
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2001
    Messages:
    13,423
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Braintree, Essex.
    Ratings:
    +4,769
    Good thinking Batman, but no cigar.
    I use a mono jack and get SPDIF out no probs at all.
    It passes a PCM signal for CD/Winamp and also passes a DD/DTS bitstream through PowerDVD.
     
  8. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    The correct adapter to use is a mono RCA - mini jack connector.

    Jeff
     
  9. NickBull

    NickBull
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use a mono RCA connector from Maplin, cost me all of 98pence.

    I don't think the problem is the connector. I have ATI player and WINDVD and get DD and DTS pass thru fine using WinDVD, but with the ATI player I only get PCM stereo.

    This doesn't really answer the question, but it does mean that it looks like some DVD players have problems with DD pass thru.

    You could try downloading WinDVD trial version from Intervideo I beleive. It's fully functional but only lets you play 5 mins of any disk. If this works then it may be a matter to be refered to Power DVD people.

    cheers

    Nick
     
  10. Rob

    Rob
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2000
    Messages:
    1,279
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +33
    I'm also using the mono jack converter from Maplins, so no problems there. I'll try some suggestions and see how it goes. I guess these things are never simple!

    Thanks for all your help.
     
  11. meva

    meva
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2001
    Messages:
    333
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    cornwall,uk
    Ratings:
    +6
    Rob, did you manage to get this sorted? I am outputting a digital signal to my av amp but can only get prologic sound ????? no dolby digital bitstream, help! thanks.
     
  12. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same here (see my seperate post), no DD or DTS with the SB Live (1024 or 5.1), it's driving me nuts!!! Ordered an M-Audio 96/24 anyway which hopefully will sort it all out...

    Cheers
    Andy
     
  13. meva

    meva
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2001
    Messages:
    333
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    cornwall,uk
    Ratings:
    +6
    When I installed the card there was a seperate connector for a digital bitstream which I didn't connect as I didn't have a cable. I read somewhere that you don't need to connect this ??? Is this my problem ??? I'm getting a digital output from my computer to my a.v amp ( I have no analog connection now ).But I'm getting no dolby digital bitstream for my amp to decode:confused:
     
  14. meva

    meva
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2001
    Messages:
    333
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    cornwall,uk
    Ratings:
    +6
    EUREKA !!!! Sorted, Creative's confusing interface got me there. Thought I had disabled the sb live's ac3 decoding but I hadn't:clown: All working now:D
     
  15. Rob

    Rob
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2000
    Messages:
    1,279
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +33
    I eventually got it sorted by buying another soundcard. I had 2 faulty soundblaster cards, but bought another brand (can't remember the name) and it worked first time. The shop that sold me the cards tested them so I know is wasn't me! A few people have made the mistake of not disabling the onboard AC-3 decoding. An easy mistake.

    Regards Rob.
     

Share This Page

Loading...