1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

No detail in the blacks (Barco 701s)

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Messiah, Dec 26, 2002.

  1. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    My Barco is giving an excellent picture but despite much tweaking with brightness, contrast, saturation, hue and picture settings I just cannot seem to get any detail in the blacks. They are REALLY black (beauty of a CRT) but to be honest just too black. Increasing brightness (set at about 50) and contrast (at about 60) just causes the pc to become 'washed out'.

    Anyone got any ideas which settings I should be adjusting. Not even sure if it isn't the DVD player (Tosh SD900E) as the XBox gives a 'brighter' picture even via S-Vid.

    BTW, I am feeding compnoent from the DVD player into a Quadscan Pro and VGA to pj via a VGA to 5 x BNC cable (one unused).

    Thanks.
     
  2. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,976
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,779
  3. Roland @ B4

    Roland @ B4
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading.
    Ratings:
    +32
    Properly setup all Barco's should be at 40-45 brightness and 75 contrast. adjust the projectopr to that and then use something like the THX setup pattern to get the low level detail correct.
    Mostley withQaudscans set to their defalts they are correct.
    See if you can'r borrow another DVD player with a known 0 IRE.
    Odly my Xbox is much darker than the DVD.
     
  4. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Thanks guys. Any ideas what the QS defaults are?
     
  5. Paul D

    Paul D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    2,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +391
    I have the QS Elite, so i'm not sure if your settings will be the same. Also i'm not sure the "Pro" version can go "below black" level like the QSE. But here are my settings if they can be of any use to you etc.

    Pioneer 737 DVD to Barco 808s with the PJ set to:
    Brightness 40
    Contrast 70

    QSE set to:
    Brightness = 22 (any less and you start crushing blacks)
    Contrast = 135 (or 128 if i run the PJ at 75 contrast)
    Saturation = 130 (personal choice!)
    Hue = 0

    (Set using Avia as a guide)
     
  6. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Thanks Paul. I'll give it a go later tonight.

    Neil
     
  7. mr huhta

    mr huhta
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try to adjust the gamma setting on your pc, that might help.
     
  8. Roland @ B4

    Roland @ B4
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading.
    Ratings:
    +32
    It might if he was using one;)
     
  9. CogPaul

    CogPaul
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I used to have a quadscan pro and found that the picture was definitely too dark with an absence of black detail - at the time I was unsure whether the culprit was the qs or the van damme cable to the projector ( as the problem was consistent across a range of dvd players) and interestingly the picture seemed better (aside from scan lines) via s-video and composite feeds. I was just talking about this very issue today to simon69 ( who also has a qs pro) and he rang me this evening to say he has swappped to s-video and feels there is a significant improvement in detail.

    Maybe this is a problem with the QS pro?
     
  10. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Interesting, especially as I too am using a Van Damme cable between QS and pj. Do you know if he is using S-Vid between QS and pj or direct from DVD player to pj. Thanks. I'll give it a go tomorrow.
     
  11. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,976
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,779
    At a guess I'd say the QS is converting analogue componet to Y/C (SVIDEO) then digitising it. This takes up less bandwidth and cost less than digitising three channels (YPrPb). Chances are that it's much better at sorting out Y/C or composite rather than Component which is why you are seeing superior results from (what should be) an inferior signal.

    Gordon
     
  12. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Hmmm. Thinking about this some more I just remembered this morning that I have an S-Vid feed from my Tosh SD900 to my amp and then an output from the amp to the Qs (I feed Sky+ this way also). I did try switching to that feed yesterday evening and initially thought it was slightly better but then concluded that there was almost nothing in it.

    I'm gonna feed an S-Vid signal direct from SD900 to CRT tonight and see if that makes a difference. I reckon this should conclude once and for all if it is the CRT settings or something else in my rack.

    Cheers.
     
  13. Roland @ B4

    Roland @ B4
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading.
    Ratings:
    +32
    I doubt it will be the cable as very few would be able to reduce the detail in the blacks.
    Though I do have one customer who insists on every so often putting a high voltage down his video cable (with the kit disconnected) which he claims excites the electrons and makes the picture "better".
    Kind of Electric Shock Therapy for cables.
     
  14. Steve Bate

    Steve Bate
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    677
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Tarporley
    Ratings:
    +11
    You'll be telling us to water cool projectors next Roland ;)

    Steve
     
  15. graham.myers

    graham.myers
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dr. Frankenstein I presume:)
     
  16. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Well, I've improved things considerably by finding and adjusting the picture settings in the DVD player menus (didn't know they were there :blush: ) but have also hooked up a temporary S-Vid lead from the DVD to pj directly. Wow, one heck opf a difference. Now I can truly see what this CRT can do. Amazing. Only downer with the S-Vid feed is the line structure but I'm gonna run the cable permanently anyway so I can always choose between the two.

    I'm gonna keep tweaking and try to get the QS ouptut to match as closely as possible the S-Vid direct feed.

    This is stunning. :D
     
  17. Paul D

    Paul D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    2,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +391
    Where abouts do you live?
    I would let you try my QSE to see if that cures your problems, assuming your fairly local etc.:)
     
  18. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Hi Paul

    Unfortunately I live just outside Cardiff. fantastic ofer though but too far me thinks. I am already thinking what I should get to replace the QS Pro but I want to make sure whatever it is is not going to crush the black detail and colours as this one appears to.

    Recommendations?

    Cheers and Happy New Year. Hic :D

    Neil
     
  19. Roland @ B4

    Roland @ B4
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading.
    Ratings:
    +32
    Messiah why not bring your QS and DVD up to Reading and we could play with the settings. Sounds like the the PJ is ok. I don't officially start up again untill the 6th jan
     
  20. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Hi Roland

    Fantastic offer. I'd love to, and real easy for me as I'm forever travelling up and down the M4 working for O2 in Slough.

    When would be best for you and how much will you charge?

    Thanks.

    Neil
     
  21. the jayman

    the jayman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    According to my adjustments best values for my Barco data 708 seems to be 50-55 for brightness and 55 for contrast. That's odd, it seems that my projector is adjusted wrong :D

    My DVD player is Skyworth 1050D and I know that it wont't output blacker than black right. However I have to try those Rolands suggested settings and make some comparison...
     
  22. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Well goodness knows what is wrong with mine then as to get a decent picture via the QS I have to have mine set at brightness=60 and contrast=70

    :confused: :mad: :(
     

Share This Page

Loading...