1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

No Colour when capturing from VHS to PC

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by jackiert, Feb 27, 2005.

  1. jackiert

    jackiert
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have connected my VHS recorder directly to my pc using scart with an input and output switch. I have also connected using S-Video lead but find that even though I can get picture and sound, there is no colour. I am using Ulead VideoStudio 7 and have adjusted the configuration accordingly ie to PAL, but no matter what I choose there is no colour. I even tried connecting my DV camcorder, but the image I get on the camcorder is also black and white. Is it possible the scart connection or should I trying using the firewire connection also? Please help!!!
     
  2. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,131
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,393
    The reason for the black & white picture is the S-Video connection. Only an SVHS VCR will be able to output the video on an S-Video lead. A standard VHS VCR will only put a B&W picture over S-Video because the colour and picture (chrominance & luminance) parts of the signal are on different cables, but the VHS VCR can not split them. Therefore the colour part of the video signal that the S-Video input is expecting will be missing on the chrominance cable and ignored from the luminance cable. To get a colour picture from the VHS VCR you will need to connect a composite lead into the PC, if it has one, or convert the composite to S-Video with a converter.

    Mark.
     
  3. jackiert

    jackiert
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Many thanks for your response. I have now connected using a composite lead instead of using S-Video, but I am still getting black and white. What am I doing wrong
     
  4. Ian in Northamp

    Ian in Northamp
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you ever fix this? I think your problem is that Ulead is set up for NTSC, not PAL. There's an 'obvious' option where you can choose PAL, but there's another one buried much deeper down in the menu system that you also have to choose. Unfortunately, I no longer use Ulead and don't have it in front of me - but I had your problem, and fixed it this way. Interestingly, after following advice almost identical to what you've already received (which, under other circumstances, would have been spot on).
     
  5. The_Lid

    The_Lid
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would also like to fix this. I'm using a Pinnacle PCI TV tuner which tunes into the TV fine. It also records video OK through the coax antena connection. I too get B&W recordings through the svideo cable.
     
  6. jackiert

    jackiert
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just got back from my three week holiday and am going to have another look at the settings. I have already tried adjusting the setting from NTSC to PAL and vice versa but this has made difference. I will see if I can find this other setting that that you mentioned might be available deeper within the menu option. I even went into Maplins and spoke to someone who said it sounded as though I had done everything correctly. He suggested re-tuning the VCR itself.
     
  7. Ian in Northamp

    Ian in Northamp
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK, I looked up my notes on this and here's what I did to make it work:

    1. Go to the Capture tab.
    2. Click on Options on left hand side.
    3. From drop down list choose Video Capture Filter.
    4. Click on Image tab.
    5. Should see Pal/NTSC options. Hopefully because you are in
    Black and White it should be set to NTSC. Change to PAL and hopefully
    you are on your way.

    Note that I was using Ulead VideoStudio 6 - I hope it's similar for you. Cheers, Ian.
     
  8. jackiert

    jackiert
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, I am using Ulead VideoStudio 7 DVD so the options are slightly different as below:-

    1. Click on Capture tab
    2. Click on Options
    3. Select Video Capture Property Settings
    4. Under video input the TV system is already set to PAL
    5. Input source is set to Video Composite

    but I am still getting black and white. Not sure if it has anything to do with the connection. I am using Hauppauge WinTV USB Live Pro Audio which has S-Video and also a Composite connection. I have connected to the video using a scart connection with typical red/yellow/white connector and have then plugged the yellow connector at the other end into the Hauppauge WinTV USB Live Pro Audio connection. For additional info the make of the VCR is a Panasonic NV-SJ220 NTSC P.B. on PAL TV. Do you think the above might have anything to do with my problem as the settings on the software appear to be correct.
     
  9. Brian110507

    Brian110507
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    jackiert,

    Are you now saying you have an NTSC VCR ??? - is the tape your playing NTSC ??? if it is PAL then that is why your getting black and white capture - if the tape is NTSC then you should be selecting the NTSC settings in UVS7 - NOT PAL. your settings in UVS MUST match your source settings - but a PAL tape played in an NTSC VCR will only give a colour picture on a compatible TV - not on any other equipment.
     
  10. jackiert

    jackiert
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  11. jackiert

    jackiert
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    BJC,

    The VCR can play both PAL and NTSC. The tape that I am interesting in capturing is in PAL format so the settings on the actual software I have set to PAL. Even when a play a NTSC tape and change the settings appropriately on the software itself I still get a black and white picture. So what do I do now. A frustrated Jackiert
     
  12. thebrummy_one

    thebrummy_one
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    372
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East London
    Ratings:
    +7
    Just a thought, are there any settings for the video card that you may need to play with?
     
  13. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,131
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,393
    If your VCR is an NTSC VCR that can play PAL tapes the chances are that it is still outputting an NTSC signal. It is most likely doing a basic PAL>NTSC conversion.
    Although my PAL VCR is rated as being able to play an NTSC recording the playback quality is fairly poor. I think the reason for the poor quality is that the conversion is done as analogue and the results are never very good and only compatable for replay and not recording. I have seen a cheap standards converter that was analogue and is stated in its description as not being compatable for recording, but only play back which is why I think the VCR could be the same.

    Mark.
     
  14. wess1981

    wess1981
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am experiencing the same problem. I have a all UK devices, a PAL Daewoo VCR and a Fujitsu Siemens laptop with USB2.0 ports.
    I choose any set-up options and get only B&W, no colour! Has anyone worked out how to fix this yet?
     
  15. wess1981

    wess1981
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    OKay. For some reason after 2 months of trying, the using Composite Video option has worked!!
    I set up to I420 but any compression seems to now gives colour. Set video options to PAL and composite video. Oh and I removed the S-VHS lead. Putting only the composite lead into the VIDEO IN port.

    Anyway. I'm no solved - good luck to the rest of you!!

    cheers
     
  16. jackiert

    jackiert
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I remembered I was given a £50.00 voucher for my birthday so I went into PC World and purchased Adaptec Videoh DVD Video Converter Kit and at last I have colour with no problem whatsoever. So it was obviously the hardware/software I was using. I have just capture my wedding video onto DVD and the quality is really great. I am really pleased with my purchase and am on a role now. Thanks to everyone for their advice.
     

Share This Page

Loading...