No Ch3,4 On Panasonic

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by pwood, Feb 3, 2009.

  1. pwood

    pwood
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,608
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Central Scotland
    Ratings:
    +178
    I have on old Ondigital Box upstairs and can get good signal strength on CH3, 4. Downstairs I get all the channels normally but today no 3 or 4. Previously a small wiggle of the aerial cable in the wall socket and it would come back which pointed to a poor connection or so I thought so squeezed the middle pin in the wall socket to make sure of a tighter connection and still no joy. I re-tuned the TV and now its not picking up 3,4 and also 13-15. I would have thought if the wall socket was faulty no channels would be received but I get 80%+ on all the other channels.

    Software is up to date on the Panasonic PV500 plasma I have and no planned ones according to Digital TV Group. The signal is split in the loft albeit I got a massive Digital aerial installed by a trustworthy installer. Is it possible the wall socket could be at fault given its only CH3 &4 I can't get.

    I have just tried the digi box downstairs and same issue no signal on 3 and 4.
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2009
  2. pwood

    pwood
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,608
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Central Scotland
    Ratings:
    +178
    Update: I found a spare male connector and a cable joiner and bypassed the socket and signal perfect. all I need to do now is find a socket that has two sat connectors and 1 DVB socket. Focus have one but want £25 for it which I don't think is anything like vfm
     
  3. ROYOLD

    ROYOLD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3,898
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Royton, Oldham. Lancs.
    Ratings:
    +296
  4. pwood

    pwood
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,608
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Central Scotland
    Ratings:
    +178
    Bought a blanking plate and will carefully drill three holes in it and use f type connectors on all three for a secure connection. A bit of checking revealed the cheap connectors are not digital compatible in that there is no screening inside which may have been part of the issue I had with the socket.
     
  5. scribbler101

    scribbler101
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +113
    If practical, better to run coax direct to TV - no connectors, no losses.
     

Share This Page

Loading...