1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

No centre speaker - Am I missing out?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by Bricksh, Mar 12, 2004.

1. Bricksh

Bricksh

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm new to the whole surround sound thing and was wondering if anyone could shed some light. I have been a two channel junkie for a long time and decided to venture into surround only recently so I bought myself a Yamaha DSP E800 receiver which feeds my mains (mission 753's) via my amp Musical Fidelity A308, the rears older missions, but still up to the task, and a heybrook 200 sub. I haven't, however got a centre speaker and have assigned that to the mains.

With DVD's especialy on DTS the sound is fantastic, and could frighten half the street, although I've only listened to out of the box set ups before but there's no comparison. However am I missing out on having no centre channel? If so what do they add and should I be looking for a mission centre or would another make be ok?

2. chrisgeary

chrisgeary

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +159
    as with anything, of course, it is ultimately subjective. but I would argue that a centre speaker is critical to a home cinema system. its job is to lock dialogue to the screen so that no matter where in the room you are, dialogue is always coming from the screen, rather than from the left or right speaker which ever you are nearer too.

tonally it must be matched to the left and right speakers otherwise when a car passes from left to right, it will sound like it changed make along the way!

mission would be the obvious choice for you - others on this forum with more experience in this area will be able to offer you specific model advice.

Chris

3. buns

buns
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1