1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

No audio on component connection

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by handsy, Jun 27, 2005.

1. handsy

handsy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +8
    Got a new DK Digital 500 player today. It has progressive scan and component out, so in my mind was a perfect match for my new Samsung 32" LCD (LE32R41B).

Hooked up, and no sound :(. Picture, but no sound. Component leads were bought from a Power Seller on eBay. Look fine to me. Tried player via SCART and all's well.

Can I troubleshoot the component connection ? Swap leads round, etc.

Any advice most welcome.

Thanks

2. GeoffR

GeoffR

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm not an expert but I believe component is a video link only, you will need to hook up for sound with optical audio, coax, phono or similar to your av or telly.

Geoff

3. handsy

handsy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +8
    hahaha, are you serious ! I didn't realise I knew so little about home AV ;)

So, I'd need to invest in a complete external audio setup just to be able to watch component video :(

Can someone else confirm/deny this ?

4. GeoffR

GeoffR

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I should have expanded on above, its only a cable I'm refering to, to use the component lead/conection you will also need a seperate cable for audio.
    I assume you have an audio input on your telly?

5. handsy

handsy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +8
    so what cable do I need for audio ?

The DVD player has optical out, coaxial, or 5.1 analogue connections. Is it the coaxial ?

The TV has inputs next to component for audio L & R ?

/me confused :rolleyes:

6. GeoffR

GeoffR

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
  7. handsy

handsy

Products Owned: