No Atmos decoding Sony 1080 AV

Lordgeezer69

Novice Member
Hi I’m new to this but just bought a Sony 1080 A.V and 5.1.2 front up firing speakers so I can enjoy Atmos BUT...... I’m having an issue, I have connected sky Q box via HDMI to av and changed the sky q sound settings to the required setting for Dolby. My av now shows when it’s decoding Dolby digital plus but when I use my amazon fire stick which is in av I get again Dolby digital plus but no Atmos decoding from content that is Atmos. Just wondering if I’m doing anything wrong here? Any help advice would be great !

gibbsy

I'm not a Sony owner but have you told the receiver that there are front Dolby speakers connected and run the room EQ?

gibbsy

It could be that, although advertised as having Atmos, the Covid pandemic is having an effect in that almost all the streaming services have reduced their bitrate (an excellent way to make more profit) and Atmos has been ditched. If the receiver is showing Dolby Digital Plus then you are receiving right format for Atmos it may just be that it's currently missing.

The only platform that is still outputting Atmos, albeit a sparse selection, is Sky with their SkyQ UHD package. I don't have access to Atmos with my TV's apps for Netflix as the TV doesn't support it. I take it you don't have a blu ray player that you can check.

Lordgeezer69

Novice Member
Thank you for taking the time to reply! I’ve literally just came across this in an article about capping of streaming due to pandemic. I’m guessing that’s probably why. I don’t have a blu ray so I guess I’ll just wait till things go back to normal

thanks again for your reply

dante01

Distinguished Member