No 768p mode given on Samsung HD-950

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by TJay, Jul 28, 2005.

  1. TJay

    TJay
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I just finally aquired this sought after DVD player, and plugged it into my Loewe Xelos A32 using the HDMI cable. However, flipping through the HD modes, it didn't offer a 768p mode.

    Is it a simple case that my TV doesn't support this mode, and so the player doesn't offer it?
     
  2. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,393
    More likely the DVD player doesn't support it. There are 2 standards for HD, 720p & 1080i which are both offered on my HD-745. My LCD screen is 768 which seems to be fairly standard resolution for many LCD HD screens.

    Mark.
     
  3. TJay

    TJay
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Samsung is different in that they do offer their own 768p mode, on their latest DVD players, and it certainly mentions the mode in the manual.
     
  4. ns1col

    ns1col
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2004
    Messages:
    202
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +2
    My JCV crt tv will display 768P mode from a 745 over component.
     
  5. Drew2

    Drew2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    699
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Tsukuba, Japan
    Ratings:
    +32
    TJay - whats the panel size of your Loewe (1365*768)?

    If its not a 1280 * 720 panel then a 720p signal will be rescaled to its panel size.
    The Samsung setting of 768p allows that rescaling to be done within the DVD player.

    ns1col's JVC tv must be a 768 panel to allow that option - is the picture quality better getting the Samsung to rescale rather than the JVC?
     
  6. TJay

    TJay
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    The TV has a resolution of 1360x768, and I have run it resolutions of 1024x768 from my PC.

    The only options the DVD player gives me are 480p, 576p, 720p & 1080i.

    Presently, the 720p mode gives a more than pleasant picture anyway. I just want to know if there might be something wrong here.
     
  7. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    768p is just not a normal format, HDMI is aimed at 480, 576, 720 and 1080 is various variants. 768 is not part of the list. The fact we have many devices at this resolution is a quirk so I for one would like to see it as an addition but it is no part HD 'specs', just like 864 and 960. It really is the fault of the panel manufacturers not making 1280 x x720 panels rather than DVD players not giving this variant.
     
  8. azz

    azz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    644
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +22
    TJ

    My 850 manual also says 768p but on scrolling on hdmi no such mode. I think samsung have messed it up.


    Azz
     
  9. Doctor Hades

    Doctor Hades
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    3,261
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +308
    Same here for my HD850 DVD player and I'm using it with the Samsung LE-26R41BD TV... :confused:

    The manual does mention 768p but lists it strangely as being 1024x768, a 4:3 ratio, as opposed to the expected 1366x768 resolution. Perhaps this resolution only appears with the DVD player is set to a 4:3 ratio?
     
  10. ns1col

    ns1col
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2004
    Messages:
    202
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +2
    Have you guys tried the muti-region hack and then connecting via component. This is assuming the panel will display over 720P. My crt will also dispay 1080I over component which could explain why i also get 768P.
     
  11. ns1col

    ns1col
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2004
    Messages:
    202
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +2
  12. saw2

    saw2
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the same issue with my Toshiba 32WL48 but the 768 mode never worked on the 945 with the same TV anyway so i just assumed it now recognised that it would not display - it is region hacked so that does not make any difference it would seem.

    More likely the mode has just been omitted completely - would be surprised if they bothered to fix this and not the on screen messages setting issue.
     
  13. Drew2

    Drew2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    699
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Tsukuba, Japan
    Ratings:
    +32
    Think Nick "Hit the nail on the head" folks,

    HDMI & DVI wont offer resolutions outwith 480 , 720 & 1080

    If your having this problem while connected via component then it is likely that the DVD player has a fault if your display can support 768.

    Whos got what hooked up which way?!!

    Looked at the photo & it looks like a D-Sub connecter to me. Which would back up the resolution as thats what most 17" LCD computer screens are.
     
  14. nnicol

    nnicol
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    I can get 768p from my hd850 but only when the machine is set to NTSC in the menu using region1 or 0 discs. It is 4:3 in apect ratio. Machine connected to a Philips 32pf9986 LCD. Connected by HDMI cable.
     
  15. MickyGee

    MickyGee
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Preston
    Ratings:
    +1
    On my 745 768p only available in dot by dot mode (PC) on a Sharp LC32GA4.

    Gives its best results in this mode. If I use (AV) mode 720p and 1080i are only available beside the standard resolutions.
     
  16. masher

    masher
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all

    I have mine connected to a Xelos LCD. When it was connected via component I could get 768P, now it is connected via HDMI no 768P... :confused:
     
  17. ianh64

    ianh64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    SW London/Surrey borders
    Ratings:
    +63
    Do you know what the EDID is reporting on the Xelos A series? On the SL, 1366x768 is not reported as a valid resolution - the maximum is 1024x768 at 50Hz. This was exactly the same with the Sharp GD1/GA3-4 series. This is the fault of the display manufacturers. It is possible that the player uses the EDID to see if it can offer 1366x768 - if it is not a recognised more, then it will not offer it in HDMI mode - in component mode I don't believe that the EDID will have any effect.

    -Ian
     
  18. Doctor Hades

    Doctor Hades
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    3,261
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +308
    I managed to get 768p (bizarrely 1024x768 according the TV info button, which is a 4:3 PC resolution!) while pressing the HDMI-Sel button on the DVD remote while connected via component video and with the DVD player set to HDMI/component (p-scan) and NTSC. I don't see the point of it though since 1280x720 is so much better.
     
  19. Drew2

    Drew2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    699
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Tsukuba, Japan
    Ratings:
    +32
    Just to add a wee bit more confusion, :confused:

    My Momitsu V880 will display 768p through DVI PAL/NTSC ! It also has a heap of other settings as well as a custom one - which I am using to give 1:1 pixel mapping.....mmmmmm nice! :thumbsup:

    Got the DVD player last Monday 2nd hand for 27quid with no remote, emailed Momitsu in Taiwan same day for price of remote. Got a reply next day asking for my postal address, phone no. then they would advice about shipping cost,
    Then heard nothing else and remote arrived this morning at no cost!! How good is that?!! Can't praise the company highly enough for that one. :clap:

    The picture and sound quality has just blown my two Pioneers and Sony out of the water.....Finally "gut" wrenching bass - sorry neighbors! :D

    The CD playback is awesome - can't belive it outperforms my cd6000ose :eek:
     
  20. cjp123

    cjp123
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    77
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have Sam 32 LCD and can not get 768p either by HDMI
     

Share This Page

Loading...